C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

This unit is the MyWay system, also referred to as RNEG, made by Harman Becker.
Main Features: Also referred to as RNEG, the MyWay colour satellite navigation system, has SD card, integrated European mapping, live trafic information, voice guidance and graphics in 2D or aerial perspective & it features a Bluetooth® system (Bluetooth phone compatibility only - no Bluetooth Audio Streaming).

Moderator: RichardW

essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

Hey guys,

my First post in the fourm, hoping some blessed souls can help out.

my neice bought a Citroen c3 2011 Connexion 1.4 hdi couple years ago, after couple couple of months the car developed an issue with the radio rebooting randomly, we took car to the local citroen dealership for diagnostic, they said the car needs firmware update, which we carried out but that didn't fix the issue, we tried the BSI to no avail.

couple of days ago, we had a low fap/dpf additive message pop on the screen with the service icon. I had the car diagnosed by mobile ime diagnostic guy local to me again and to reset the additive counter after installing a new additive pouch. he failed to clear the code and j have to take the car into the dealership on the 19th july to reset the counter

The diagnostic come back with a fault code of 0940 GPS antenna fault shortcircuit to Earth local.

I assume that means there a loose earth connection but I'm not sure weather thats back of the radio or the aerial on the roof.

the vin is VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff] could some one possible let us know what type of radio we have and what removeable radio tool we need, and a diagram of the wiring for the earth wire if that's available.


thank you, look forward to your advise and Information

Essa
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

20210704_105409.jpg
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by GiveMeABreak »

You have the RNEG (MyWay) telematics system installed.

The aerial runs from the aerial base across to the top back of the tailgate and from there, down the driver's side back to the the dashboard and to t he head unit:
C3 A51 Aerial.PNG
Unfortunately 0940 is not a recognised PSA code, so is probably one generated by his diagnostic tool, so I can't help you with that one.
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

thankyou very much, I going to get a removalable tool for the radio later on today. is there a diagram of the back of the rneg my way. where should i be looking for the earth wire?

ive read other post regarding the rebooting, but nobody mentioned the earth wire maybe its just loose connection. Not sure how accurate the scanner is pin pointing the issue.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The issue is likely to be somewhere in the previous diagram I put up - as there may be a connection issue or water ingress there. There are no earths at the back of the unit for the aerials as these are simple aerial plugs. But it won't hurt to check that the aerial is not loose of course.
RNEG Rear.PNG
"a" Aerial FM2 (not used).
"b" GPS aerial .
"c" 3-part connector.
"d" LVDS cable connector.
"e" Aerial FM1/AM.

You'll need a set of this type of key:
RNEG Keys.PNG
Link here:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/373608989377 ... %3A2334524
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

update: manged to get the key tool, took the radio out and had a look at the aerial connector took it out and inserted back in, connection was secure, here are some photos of the radio model, firmware version and map version, I set the date and time and GPS syn was grey out, I also checked how many satellite it picked up, it picked up 0.

I'm going to try a BSI reset in the morning, i think i did it wrong last time.
20210709_210902.jpg
20210709_205806.jpg
20210709_205538.jpg
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 09 Jul 2021, 23:41, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed quote from immediately previous post as unnecessary
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

any Information about removing interior roof lining, what am looking for onnce I've removed the roof lining ?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Remember you will not get an instant fix on satellites once the system antenna has been removed. It takes at least 10 minutes of actual driving (not standing still with engine running) for the system to get a fix on available satellites.

1) Firmware: You have the latest and last available version that was ever released for this system.
2) Your maps can be further updated to the 2016-2 version, which is the last official release for this system.
3) Always leave the Synch Date & Time with GPS option Unchecked! This is the only way to ensure correct navigation calculation and that the time remains as it should in order to deal with the GPS N Week Rollover issue.

As for the GPS Aerial: I highly recommend before you start tearing the roof open that you do a simple test first of all.

a) You can purchase rather cheaply a £10 GPS aerial from ebay - with the fakra connector.
b) Remove and replace your GPS connection with the GPS aerial you bought and place the receiver in a good location on the dash if possible - never mind about tidiness, we just need this for a test.
c) When connected, go for a drive of at least 10 minutes and then see if the system has managed to lock onto any satellites and if so how many.
d) If it has found satellites and navigation is working, you know you have an issue with the GPS aerial somewhere from the back of the unit to the roof aerial - then you can investigate further.
e) If you are not getting any satellites from the test GPS unit, then I would suspect the MyWay unit itself may be faulty intermaly.
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

thankyou so much, yeah I read this advice on another thread you mentioned, il do exactly what you have layed out in the above steps.

should first try and do BSI reset?

whilst driving do I need to check the satellite by holding down setup or after the 10 min drive?

why is the map only updated till 2016 officially, but unofficial can update to 2021?
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

found this on ebay, is this the one I'm looking for? https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SAT-NAV-GPS- ... 635-2958-0
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The BSI reset is not really going to help wit this issue I suspect, but costs nothing but time to try - procedure here:

BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure

2) To get satellite info, you need a long press on the MENU button, then select AUDIO/TELEPHONE DIAGNOSTICS, then GPS COVERAGE). You can do this when the car is at a standstill - as after driving it will either of locked onto satellites or not - so don't attempt this while driving - it is too much of a distraction.

3) The MyWay system along with the Navidrive 3D are made by Harman Becker and PSA stopped using these systems. When that happened they left customers in the lurch as they no longer commissioned HERE maps to make these system-specific map updates any longer. Customers were therefore stuck on the last official updates 2016-2. Having said that, others found that these units or similar units were still being supported on some Audi and BMW models and they were still getting map updates commissioned. So some people found a way to modify the update to work with the MyWay and Navidrive 3D systems - although the POI database was not compatible and there were other glitches - but it was a solution none the less after being abandoned by PSA.

4) Yes, that's the sort of GPS aerial I was talking about - should be perfect for testing purposes. Good luck :-D
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

ooh i see, to be honest Citroën/ PSA should continue updating the unit some how or replace the units, this is wrong and dangerous for the driver, outdated maps.

is there possibility to upgrade the unit?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by GiveMeABreak »

To do that you would have to replace the multifunction screen for a high definition unit, as well as the head unit and it will need configuration using a specialist diagnostic tool.

I agree they cut the life of these models short, I had the NG4 Navidrive and the same happened - but when they make a unit change they inevitably drop support shortly afterwards to save costs.

You'll find now that the latest systems are all using Tom Tom mapping which can be updated automatically over the air and map updates are free for life, but you won't have a compatible vehicle for these latest systems and I'm not sure how much longer the RT6 systems which came after your MyWay unit will continue to be supported.

You may find that using a modified version of the BMW maps for this system solves your needs - and these can be found easily enough on some GPS sites.
essa
Posts: 16
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 08:49

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by essa »

update, attached the arieal, picked up 6 satellites, so I guess its the aerial hoping it's losse connection, the unt did reset before I set off, I read sometimes the sd card can be corrupted and that causes reboot of the system or its heat issue but I don't mines suffering from heat isues.

what is the SD Card used for? I also read you can remove card when the car is turned off and start the car up without the card and see if that fixes the problem but is that safe to do so?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: C3 mk2 Radio/Satnav Reboot

Post by GiveMeABreak »

So you know now that your Head Unit is fine - but have an issue somewhere with the GPS aerial connection or the aerial. I would double check by plugging in the old aerial and confirm that you lose the satellites again, just to rule out anything else.

The internal microSD card (not the SD card on the Centre Fascia) stores the system data.
The outside SD card on the fascia is for the navigation maps.