C3 Picasso Antenna access

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Hi.
This is my first post here. Thank you for letting me join.
I have an issue with the radio reception on my 2011 C3 Picasso. I am sure its the Antenna.
A couple of questions, Does this antenna have an amplifier and how do you gain access to it via the headlining?
Any help in how to remove sufficient lining would be most helpful.
Thanks in advance.
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11994
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1506

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Hi, and :welc: to the Forum. Nice avatar (Not now Kato, you fool! :lolhit: ).

While I cannot offer any useful advice, might I suggest you type the vehicle VIN here? This will allow Forum staff (I am NOT Forum staff) to get more detailed information on your vehicle (provided the relevant manufacturer has granted the Forum staff access to their data). The Forum software will, for security reasons, obscure it so only Forum staff can read it (like this; VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff] ). Please do not put any spaces in the VIN, or post up any photographs of it, as the software will not recognise and protect it.
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Many thanks Hell Razor.
Here is my Vin VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
Hope this helps.
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Hi.
Just bumping this thread. Anyone able to help, before I start ripping things out I shouldn't?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25968
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2958

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi Trevor

It isn't an easy affair....

The headlining has to come off officially. At the rear, the grab handles and the seat belt guides also have to be removed as well as the interior light. Officially, the whole headlining should be removed, which would also mean the front grab rails and sun visors as per the following:
C3 Pic Headlining.PNG
(1) Headlining.
(2) Seat belt guide (rear).
(3) The mounting cover of the child seat attachment cover.
(4) Rear interior lamp.
(5) Grab handles.
(6) Sun visor.

But to do all that involves removing the quarter panel trims, the screen pillar trim pads and the roof console etc.

Whether you can get to it partially without doing this I can't tell you, but thios is the base and the immediate aerial wiring:
C3 Pic Aerial Base.PNG
The aerial base nut is shown at (1).

Looking at the following the aerial module is located at (3), so may not be possible to access without fully removing the headlining.
C3 Pic Aerial Module.PNG
But having looked at the wiring, you may not have item (3) as that may be for additional equipment - I can't be 100% sure.

Here's the unit again, so you may be able to get to this without all the removal if you can find a way in....
C3 Pic Aerial B.PNG
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Hi Marc.
Many thanks for the helpful diagrams. I'll need to now reconsider if I'll go down this route.
Seems like a big job.
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5435
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 801

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Paul-R »

What exactly is the problem with the reception? Is it restricted to one waveband or does it affect all?
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Hi.
Both AM medium wave and FM are poor. The original Citroen headunit was very poor but a Pioneer unit I've fitted is a bit better on both bands. I did wonder if the supply to the antenna amp was missing.
My car is the base model, no aircon, fancy radio etc.
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5435
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 801

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Paul-R »

Ah, so you've changed from the standard PSA unit to an aftermarket radio. That puts a different slant on things.

AFAIK the aerial units have amplifiers and require a power feed to them, as you have already said. The method of delivering the power changes according to the model. Some have a separate wire to the amplifier and others have 12v inserted into the aerial co-ax. It's possible that the amplifier isn't being powered up even assuming that the Pioneer has the option to power an amplifier.

Marc or Wheeler should be able to tell you which type of power feed the amplifier has from the VIN.

Further thoughts. You said that the problem was worse when the original radio was in. Did you try anything to make it better or did you jump straight to the Pioneer. What model was the original radio?
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Hi.
The reason for going to the Pioneer was for phone connectivity and MP3 from a memory stick. I didnt realise the aerial could be Bias T fed via the coax.
The original radio is a Bosch PSA N1 MP3 DXM
Also marked Bosch CM RD4 N1 MP3-03 96 669 595 77 dated 10-03-11
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25968
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2958

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Original kit is a basic RD4, mono tuner - so 1 active aerial and that's it, no USB connecting box or hands free kit.
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

Yes Mark
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5435
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 801

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Paul-R »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
14 Aug 2021, 14:06
Original kit is a basic RD4, mono tuner - so 1 active aerial and that's it, no USB connecting box or hands free kit.
Yes but what kind of feed is the 12v power for the amplifier? Is the amplifier a separate unit or in the base of the antenna unit?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25968
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2958

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Not shown as a separate amp so fed from RD4 originally I suspect.
User avatar
Murphyv310
Donor 2021
Posts: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2021, 18:52
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso Antenna access

Post by Murphyv310 »

So if its not showing an amp it's just a straight aerial directly fed to the radio antenna socket.