No Satellites Issue

This unit is the MyWay system, also referred to as RNEG, made by Harman Becker.
Main Features: Also referred to as RNEG, the MyWay colour satellite navigation system, has SD card, integrated European mapping, live trafic information, voice guidance and graphics in 2D or aerial perspective & it features a Bluetooth® system (Bluetooth phone compatibility only - no Bluetooth Audio Streaming).

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26075
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2996

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No worries, the head unit is easy to take out, you just need the 4 flat blade keys to remove it. Might be worth doing to a) check the blue GPS connector isn’t loose, or b) to bypass the GPS cable to rule that out.
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

Last night on motorway where there were no buildings I got 4 satellites so I’m defo now thinking antenna :) will test with temp and return a verdict in a few weeks :)
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

Final update new antenna has arrived instant 8 satellites this is the antenna https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Clarion-all- ... 6946453006

Plugs into the plug in the roof lining so no radio out going to order new sharks fin just for originality thanx for all the help and advice Marc
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26075
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2996

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No worries - at least the head unit wasn't toast and an aerial or 2 is a lot less expensive!
Xantippa
Posts: 473
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51
x 24

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Xantippa »

I just noticed that I have this issue too. Position on map was wrong, and no height available. Did factory reset and after that there´s no position on map at all. Earlier this week MyWay rebooted once while I was driving to work. It restarted quickly and radio worked fine after that. Might be somehow fried HU I´m afraid...
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26075
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2996

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Don't forget that after a reset, or restart, it can take driving around for 3 miles to get correct positioning:

From the last page:
viewtopic.php?p=615684#p615684

...and make sure you've done the mod to uncheck synchronise date / time with GPS option.
Xantippa
Posts: 473
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51
x 24

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Xantippa »

I did drive about 20km after reset. It´s not even possible to synchronise with GPS, it´s grayed out (and it wasn´t checked earlier).

I guess it´s the Joying way then... BTW, what is the part number for that "empty box" that is installed in the place of radio with SMEG? I tried to look at it in the service.citroen, but couldn´t find.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26075
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2996

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

There's a combination of different side fascia plug modules (volume + / -) etc that replace the ones that are there in the central console and a combination of cubby hole and push to open / close storage.
cubby.PNG
Xantippa
Posts: 473
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51
x 24

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Xantippa »

it´s 98120802ZD I guess.
Xantippa
Posts: 473
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51
x 24

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Xantippa »

GPS came back after 2 weeks on a longer journey (after 100km constant driving). Today radio died and only cd-player works.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26075
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2996

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Bad news Marko...
Kazzu
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Feb 2021, 15:23
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Kazzu »

Citroen c4II 1,6Hdi 68kw 2011

RNEG navigation, currently not working satellites. No NM/v also. Compas and radio are OK.

This happened after I washed my car it that automatic washing machines at the gas station.

My antenna has 2 wires. Antena base Number is: PSA 9666567580-01

I restarted the ECU, nothing.

what to do?*

Mayybe to update RNEG software? Can somebody send my files in inbox or email?

Should I buy this: https://www.olx.ba/artikal/35725277/aut ... fakra-gt5/
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26075
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2996

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Updating the firmware is not recommended whilst there is a fault with the system as that may leave it in a worse condition and hinder troubleshooting.

Your biggest clue is what you have already mentioned - water. If this has got into the aerial base unit, it will have got into the electronics and probably is shorting or causing interference. You may be able to get in via the headlining at the rear light and investigate dry it out.
Kazzu
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Feb 2021, 15:23
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Kazzu »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 16:35
Updating the firmware is not recommended whilst there is a fault with the system as that may leave it in a worse condition and hinder troubleshooting.

Your biggest clue is what you have already mentioned - water. If this has got into the aerial base unit, it will have got into the electronics and probably is shorting or causing interference. You may be able to get in via the headlining at the rear light and investigate dry it out.
Thank you Marc.

I already did that and check for water leakage at the roof, and didn't see water there. Maybe it is a faulty base and antenna. This is my original antenna: https://s9.pik.ba/galerija/poruke_uploa ... b620f2.jpg

I just ordered used one for 25euros from another C4 with a navigation system, this one (same connectors as my C4): https://s9.pik.ba/galerija/poruke_uploa ... 950abb.jpg

Will inform you what happened when make a replacement.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26075
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2996

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, the circuitry is inside under the 4 screws of the base.

Depending on your options there may also be aerial equipment in the tailgate, the amplifier and screen printed aerial if relevant to your car.