No Satellites Issue

This unit is the MyWay system, also referred to as RNEG, made by Harman Becker.
Main Features: Also referred to as RNEG, the MyWay colour satellite navigation system, has SD card, integrated European mapping, live trafic information, voice guidance and graphics in 2D or aerial perspective & it features a Bluetooth® system (Bluetooth phone compatibility only - no Bluetooth Audio Streaming).

Moderator: RichardW

Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

I have an x7 where the serial numbers menu says heading illegal serial number and no satellite signal help lol
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: Replacement Radio Citroen C5

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I'm assuming you have an RNEG (MyWay) or RT6 (eMyWay) system - pop up your VIN for confirmation.

Regarding the message - that is not a message you will have received normally -you have obviously gone into the system menu to troubleshoot your satellite issue and discovered the serial number message. This is normal! They all have this and should be ignored - customers are not meant to access this particular menu. I would also not change anything there or you could render the unit inoperable.

Once we know what system you have via the VIN I may be able to help further.
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: Replacement Radio Citroen C5

Post by Dazzaneal »

Thank you
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: Replacement Radio Citroen C5

Post by Dazzaneal »

I have pm’d you my vin
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It's ok, the VIN is automatically masked here in the public forums anyway - only staff can read them, but I have it now.

So as you have the MyWay system, I've moved this thread into the correct section.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

What versions of firmware are you running on your MyWay and what is the current mapping version you are using?
Also, how many satellites are showing as visible - it will need a minimum of 4 to work properly. You can find this out by starting the car, wait for the system to start up, then hold the SETUP button in until the menu appears. Scroll through the options until it shows you the number of visible satellites.

If there are a low number, then I would be suspicious of the GPS aerial. Water ingress through the aerial base can cause issues.

This issue has been cured by doing a proper reset of the Car's ECUs. It may not work in all cases, but has been known to resolve many satellite issues. Follow this procedure exactly and don't skimp on the timings:

BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

Ok on a side had a look at the base of my antenna and there is only 1 wire coming from there
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

Latest maps and firmware
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

Could I have the part number and price of a new antenna base please
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok I can do that - but do try the battery disconnect and reconnect procedure I linked to first - it's the official procedure to reset the system and has to be done to ensure the system is cleanly restarted, because the unit continues to be powered when the ignition is switched off.
  • You must then take it for a drive of at least 3 miles to allow the GPS system to calibrate itself (staying static will not work).
  • If there are still insufficient satellites, then the next test is to connect a third party GPS antenna into the back of the head unit in place of the GPS antenna. Then take it for another 3 mile drive and see if that resolves the satellites not visible. This test rules out the aerial or base unit!
  • If it is still not showing satellites after this test, then the unit will likely need replacing as the tuner is probably fried.
But if you want the parts, these are the Citroen part numbers and current prices. But I would strongly suggest the tests first or you could be throwing money away.

Aerial cable assembly part number: 6561QZ. Price £84.86 inc. VAT
Aerial Base Unit part number: 6561RE, Price £50.38 inc. VAT
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

Thank you just to clarify should there be only one wire from the antenna base on my car?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The MyWay unit has 3 Fakra type connectors from the rear of the unit:

Blue: GPS
Grey: FM2
White: FM1

These are routed through a large cable bundle to the rear of the car. From there they go into an adapter (item 10) on the diagram. The FM aerials are split out from here as on the Tourer (estate), the FM aerials are integrated into the rear quarter panel windows. The GPS cable is the one that goes to the roof mounted aerial.
X7 Tourer Aerial Adapter.PNG
It might be worth you ahving a read here of another member that had the same issue - he ended up needing a new Head Unit as I suggested to you if the other tests fail. It also conmtains a link in the post to one of those cheaper GPS modules you can use to test it.

So yes, there is one GPS cable to the roof antenna.

Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

Thank you I am getting 2 satellites after factory reset so would suggest that the antenna is at fault :) I’ll buy the one you’ve linked to test at first and if that fixes the problem I’ll go for a new roof antenna thank you for your help
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25505
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2855

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Also one important thing I forgot to mention!

You may not be aware of the GPS Week Number Rollover issue that affects the MyWay and some other systems. This occurred on April 6 to April 7, 2019, when the satellites reset to zero. This happens every 20 years and can affect GPS systems in different ways.

The only way to fix this, is to go into the settings for date and time, and unselect the ‘Synchronise time with GPS’ option. This can resolve the incorrect positioning information as a result of the April 2019 change. Check the time, date and year and correct manually, but ensure the ‘Synchronise time with GPS’ setting is not checked.

Give it some time to recalibrate by driving for some time and see if that sorts your issue.
Dazzaneal
Posts: 11
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 10:06
x 1

Re: No Satellites Issue

Post by Dazzaneal »

I have purchased a unit that connects to the gt5 connector in the roof lining save fetching head unit out if that fixes the problem I’ll order a new antenna from Citroen next week

Thanks very much for your help