Turbo Charger Issues P1496,P1497 and P2562,P2563

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Turbo Charger Issues P1496,P1497 and P2562,P2563

Post by Naved »

ImageHi French Car Forum,

My Citroën C4 Grand Picasso 2016 has issues. Please, can someone point me in the right direction. My car loses power at high revs. The Service and engine management light come on the dash. My car has done 94 K miles

I have Diagbox on the laptop, but used my Autel Maxisys to scan the error codes. The following are the codes I have from the engine control unit:
P1496 00 Turbocharger Actuator closing too big compared with reference value Permanent
P1497 00 Turbocharger Actuator closing too small compared with reference value Permanent
P2562 00 Turbocharger Actuator closing too small compared with reference value Permanent
P2563 00 Turbocharger Actuator closing too big compared with reference value Permanent

Image
Attachments
Turbo Errors.JPG
Last edited by Naved on 22 Sep 2021, 16:47, edited 2 times in total.
Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by Naved »

I will be swapping a MAP sensor and Turbo boost solenoid from an identical Citroën C4 Grand Picasso to my C4 Grand Picasso and will let you know the outcome. Meanwhile, any other suggestion would really be appreciated. Thanks
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9615
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 480

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by RichardW »

I doubt the MAP sensor has anything to do with it. You need some live data really, what is the turbo position sensor reporting? Seems odd that it has set both a low and high code, and both are permanent? How can that be? I would clear the codes, and see what comes back, and what the sensor is reporting. What engine is in it?
Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by Naved »

Hi Richard, I have changed both MAP sensor and turbo boost solenoid but same error codes exist having deleted the errors prior to changing. As for the engine type the logbook shows variant as BHZ and chassis has BHZ letters too. Also screenshot from Haynes online shows engine type. I will get some live data readings today.
Attachments
EngineType.JPG
Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by Naved »

I have Freeze frame data from each of the errors
P1496-
P1496-FreezeData.JPG
P1497-
P1497-FreezeData.JPG
P2562-
P2562-FreezeData.JPG
P2563-
P2563-FreezeData.JPG
I have gained ECU data for my car year 2016 at around 1500rpm
MyCar2016Livedata.JPG
Also got data from an identical working Citroën car but from year 2015 below. You can compare both cars.
IdenticalCar2015LiveData.JPG
Here is another live data snapshot at higher revs from my car.
AirCircuit.JPG
Last edited by Naved on 22 Sep 2021, 08:52, edited 3 times in total.
Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by Naved »

Turbo charger position is showing some odd parameter values. Is this likely the issue?
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9615
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 480

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by RichardW »

Looks like the output is stuck in one position - which might be the sensor or it might be the turbo. Don't know the exact configuration on these units, on the earlier ones the VNT mech was external and you could see it move when the engine was started and also push it manually to see how it felt. Have a look and see if this is same on yours. If so you could try pushing it up and and down whilst watching the live data to see if it changes, or even to see if you can move it. Given that it is reading 70% seems more likely the unit is broken rather than a wiring fault, as I would expect that to give either open or closed reading.
Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by Naved »

Richard forgive my ignorance but VNT and waste gate are almost the same and you would only have one or the other(see Pic below). As for waste gate, I have replaced this last week with a new one. Should I be sending it back and getting one with turbo at a more costly price? The wastegate rod does move when engine is not started but fails to move when engine is started because of pressure.
Turbo1.jpg
wastegate.jpg
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9615
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 480

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,1497 and P2562,2563

Post by RichardW »

Wastegate / VNT sort of the same thing, but they work differently - this is a variable vane turbo so looks like you have replaced the VNT actuator (even if someone called it a waste gate actuator). Presumably the fault was apparent before you changed the unit? Is there actually an electronic unit on the turbo to report the position?
Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,P1497 and P2562,P2563

Post by Naved »

Richard, the fault was apparent before the VNT/Actuator change and after. I had a good look around the turbo, and I am unable to see any other electronic sensor around the turbo. This I gather is normal. If that is the case, then what would be the next step?
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9615
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 480

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,P1497 and P2562,P2563

Post by RichardW »

Can only think the signal is coming from the boost solenoid then, but you said fault remained when you changed it. Sometimes they have a little filter on the end of the vent pipe which can get blocked.
Naved
Posts: 19
Joined: 14 Sep 2020, 09:05

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,P1497 and P2562,P2563

Post by Naved »

Yes, I did change the booster solenoid, and it was the same. This filter that is on the vent pipe, would be on the solenoid lines? ? Do you have any diagram?
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9615
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 480

Re: Turbo Charger Issues P1496,P1497 and P2562,P2563

Post by RichardW »

No, but it should be easy enough to trace the pipes back - one will be on the vac system the other not. The solenoid is often marked as to which is vac and which vent, you could just disconnect the vent line at the solenoid.