RNEG swap to RT5

This unit is the RT4 and RT5 system and is made by Magneti Marelli
Main differences between RT4 & RT5 - RT5 has Bluetooth Hands Free, faster Navigation calculation and on C4 & C4 Picasso only, USB ports and a High-Res screen.

Moderator: RichardW

silvering
Donor 2021
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 May 2021, 06:55

RNEG swap to RT5

Post by silvering »

Couldnt find much info on the subject. I found a donor car with the forementioned rt5 unit. Im thinking of swaping my RNEG, cause im tired of listening to cds. Browsed the internet and in the french forum they say its a straight swap with some telecoding/bsi changes, can anyone confirm that?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The RNEG has a low res screen, but the the RT4 /5 should be able to interface with either, so that shouldn't be a problem.

The telematics units have similar parameters but there may be a few differences, but certainly the VIN will need to be coded to the new unit. Be careful of some options though - as the defaults must be left as they are even though you may think they need changing to suit your vehicle. This is due tot he way the data information is handled between different marques (Peugeot / Citroen) and vehicle models.

Other parameters will depend largely on which country and from which vehicle the donor RT5 is from.... As this can also have an impact. Make sure the parking assistance and languages are configured correctly too.

If you get stuck at this point when you come to check the parameters, let me know.
silvering
Donor 2021
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 May 2021, 06:55

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by silvering »

Thanks for the answer. Im still not sure what exactly i will get, cause the donor car is in Bulgaria and i am in Sweden (its really hard these days to find nice working unit for a decent price). But i told my guy that i need the full set of cables, ets + the fascia (just in case, i couldnt find any info on the size of the RT5//5 screen). Maybe it has the USB cable, maybe it doesnt, who knows. But if you're really willing to help with the BSI parameters, im gonna ask for the donor VIN also when the time for installation comes :)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It's hard to be certain regarding the RT5 specifically, as it may require High Res Screen - I know the earlier RT4 could accept both. Only the RT6 and NG4 Navidrive had the high resolution screens and the RNEG is not compatible with those. The RT5 was never actually fitted to the Citroen C5 X7. It only had the basic RD4, or the later RD45 (with Bluetooth), or the RT4 briefly, then the RNEG, or NG4 Navidrive 3D, and then the RT6, before the last production run with limited numbers having the early 7" Touchscreen SMEG unit.

You won't currently have USB - check inside the centre armrest console, on the front side nearest the windscreen, about half way down there would be a round flap that covers the USB if fitted.

As for the donor unit, the VIN would be handy, as that will tell me what vehicle it came from and importantly what equipment the car had. So we likely know the language will need changing for a start but it should identify what options the car and help with parameter configuration.

Yes, just drop me a PM when you have it all fitted and I can give you some guidance on what needs to be changed.

Make sure you also get the relevant firmware CD for the RT5 - that will also be critical as changing the user interface parameters and language will likely need the firmware CD.
silvering
Donor 2021
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 May 2021, 06:55

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by silvering »

Currently i dont have USB, hence the upgrade. I will try to get the VIN for the donor car tomorrow, but language wont be an issue, the owner told me he was using it in english. Regarding the firmware CD, what do you mean? Like, there is an original CD comming with the car, or i should upgrade to 8.31? I intended doing the the upgrade anyway (if it was not done yet), since thats the way to unlock USB mp3 playing with miracast, but if you meant something else, let me know in advance, so i can prepare :)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by GiveMeABreak »

8.31 is the latest and last version of the system firmware. It may be needed to change some options like language. You should always have a copy of this. You can purchase a genuine one from Citroen for about 8 Euros, part 9679242580.
silvering
Donor 2021
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 May 2021, 06:55

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by silvering »

So, its put on hold. I've been sent only the display. The seller claims that this is the navigation, and the cd is just for music 😁
Im currently waiting for him to uninstall the cd plus all the cables and send it to me.
Which brings me to a question. The rt5 unit has 4 colored cables on the back, two radio antenas, one gps antena and one gsm antena i guess. And my rneg has three of these (im guessing minus the gsm antenna). So from the donor car i need only the unit and the gsm antenna? Cause the other cables goes all the way to the trunk and its a bit overwhelming to take down 🙄
As you already mentioned, its a straight swap, so im hoping only the gsm antenna needs to be added.

Anyway, im attaching a photo of the display label. From whatever info i could find, its used also in rneg systems, which leads me to believe its not high-res 🥺
Attachments
IMG_20210909_145727.jpg
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by GiveMeABreak »

You have to remember that the RT5 is OLDER that the RNEG!

The RT5 has emergency calling and uses a SIM Card (it should have a vertical slot on the right hand side of the head unit) so needs a GSM aerial to work with it. The RNEG does not - it is Bluetooth only, but if the vehicle with RNEG (MyWay) is fitted with emergency service option like an independent telematic unit - that will be integrated into the car and hidden with it's own aerial separate to the Head unit so that it can automatically send location information to the emergency services in the event of a bad accident that triggers the airbags, or for emergency contact when you hit the red SOS button.
silvering
Donor 2021
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 May 2021, 06:55

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by silvering »

Nope, i dont think my car has separate telematic or sos capabilities. So i will have to install the gsm aerial/antenna i guess?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by GiveMeABreak »

If you don't have the button with the SOS or Citroen logo on, then you won't have it:
SOS.PNG
silvering
Donor 2021
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 May 2021, 06:55

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by silvering »

I understand that this is the case with my current setup. But isnt there an SOS button on the rt5 unit itself? If thats the case, can the gsm function be activated after installing the aerial? 🙄
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It should for normal calls, but you may not have the configuration setup for emergency calling - as there are 2 systems one with a wired connection to the Airbag ECU and another without this - so as this unit was never fitted to the X7 I can't say what is correct - but if it is a full RT5 it should have Bluetooth for normal calling anyway.
silvering
Donor 2021
Posts: 20
Joined: 18 May 2021, 06:55

Re: RNEG swap to RT5

Post by silvering »

I will use the bt for calling. But i also have another sim, which i will use with the unit. I actually dont need the sos function, as it is not supported in Sweden anyway (i think).