Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

Hello my friends

I´m having a little problem here. Heres the pictures
1.jpeg
Here´s the locked radio.
2.jpeg
Press the "BND" buttom to unlock it
3.jpeg
New line appears instead the "CODE IN" expected.

What´s going on? Anyone?

here´s my equipment info
WhatsApp Image 2021-06-20 at 16.55.56.jpeg
Thank you
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25983
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 6:38 pm
x 2961

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Have a look at this post in this thread:

memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=2763

The more you enter the wrong code, the longer the delay is before the CODE IN appears. Leave it connected to a separate car battery for up to 30 hours or so until the CODE IN appears.
Last edited by myglaren on Mon Jun 21, 2021 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Spellink!
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
Mon Jun 21, 2021 9:04 am
Have a look at this post in this thread:

memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=2763

The more you enter the wrong code, the longer the delay is before the CODE IN appears. Leave it connected to a separate car battery for up to 30 hours or so until the CODE IN appears.
Hi! Thanks! So i will have to use a battery to keep it ON on my work bench

Can you please help with the rear radio pinout?

What pins should i connect to battery? earth, memory and ign terminals? Can you help with that too?

Thank you veri much!

Regards
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25983
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 6:38 pm
x 2961

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I think Pin 4 and 7 are live and 8 is the earth on the 8 pin black connector socket.
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
Mon Jun 21, 2021 1:24 pm
I think Pin 4 and 7 are live and 8 is the earth on the 8 pin black connector socket.
Can you help me to find? The pins have no number to help.
20210621_210034.jpg
20210621_205943.jpg
Capturar.JPG
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

Pinout solved!

AKA Iso Connector btw
Attachments
WhatsApp Image 2021-06-21 at 23.46.41.jpeg
PU-1561A.JPG
Last edited by Renanek9 on Tue Jun 22, 2021 2:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

I left the radio on on the bench. Let's see how long it takes to unlock itself.
User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 7378
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:46 pm
x 1443

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by white exec »

I take it you have the correct code available?
The car's owners' handbook should have the code entry procedure described.
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

Reanimator wannabe :rofl2:
20210622_075143.jpg
20210622_075133.jpg
20210622_075129.jpg
User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 7378
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:46 pm
x 1443

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by white exec »

Sorry, not following you.
Do you have the correct code, and its input procedure?

To obtain the code, if you need it, this site works:
https://www.radio-code.co.uk/PU1561A-Ci ... guide.html
Site also contains code entry instructions.
Input the unit's 14-digit full serial number, pay the small fee, and get the code.

Band needs pressing for 5secs+.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25983
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 6:38 pm
x 2961

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The issue is that either too many attempts have been made Chris and this has extended the wait time again and again before code re-entry will show, - so double dash lines are showing - so no further code input is possible until the allotted time has elapsed. Every time the system is powered off it starts counting down from next power up - hence why others have kept the radio 'live' to allow the hours needed to lapse before the 'CODE IN' is displayed again.
User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 7378
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:46 pm
x 1443

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by white exec »

That's right - the enforced 'wait' period escalates by doubling, each time wrong code is entered.
Best to get acquire correct code, I'd guess . . .
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
Tue Jun 22, 2021 5:17 pm
The issue is that either too many attempts have been made Chris and this has extended the wait time again and again before code re-entry will show, - so double dash lines are showing - so no further code input is possible until the allotted time has elapsed. Every time the system is powered off it starts counting down from next power up - hence why others have kept the radio 'live' to allow the hours needed to lapse before the 'CODE IN' is displayed again.
Exactly... i cannot input any code because i receive the double dash line when i press BND for 5seconds

So i have to wait i-dont-know-how-much-time to be able to input the correct code again

:(

22 hours and counting... no result yet
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:29 pm
x 4

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by Renanek9 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
Tue Jun 22, 2021 5:17 pm
The issue is that either too many attempts have been made Chris and this has extended the wait time again and again before code re-entry will show, - so double dash lines are showing - so no further code input is possible until the allotted time has elapsed. Every time the system is powered off it starts counting down from next power up - hence why others have kept the radio 'live' to allow the hours needed to lapse before the 'CODE IN' is displayed again.
"CODE IN" should appears automatically or ineed to press BND for test?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25983
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 6:38 pm
x 2961

Re: Xantia Locked Radio (PU-1561A)?? Need help

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It's years since I had one of these - so read through the posts in the link I supplied earlier :wink: