Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

Burnie
Posts: 8
Joined: 01 Feb 2019, 17:10
x 1

Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by Burnie »

Hi All. I'm Burnie and new to this forum. I'm a mechanic (many years ago) and have bought a Citroen Relay Van 2012 with 50,000 miles which I'm converting into a campervan. I'm trying to find out if anyone can help me with a radio problem. The previous owner told me she had a new battery fitted and since then the radio hasn't worked. I had the battery disconnected for a short while and the radio worked when I re connected it for a short time and now its not working again. It's a mystery. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi and welcome

The radios on these are not manually coded - they are VIN coded at the factory to only work in that vehicle.

What has likely happened is that the vehicle should be allowed for all the electronics to go to sleep for 5 minutes or so with all the doors shut (bonnet open) before disconnecting the battery. This allows all the ECU parameters to be written back to memory for the last drive. When reconnecting the battery, a further 5 minutes should be allowed for the ECUs to reinitialise before starting the vehicle.

I suspect this is what has happened and that caused some issues. These modern vehicles are like computers and the electronics work over data networks - so same common sense approach is needed when pulling power essentially.

Burnie
Posts: 8
Joined: 01 Feb 2019, 17:10
x 1

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by Burnie »

Hi Marc,
Many thanks for your reply.
So should I disconnect the battery then reconnect waiting 5 minutes before starting? (with the doors shut and bonnet open). Cheers Burnie

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Pop your VIN up so I can see what it is you have.

Burnie
Posts: 8
Joined: 01 Feb 2019, 17:10
x 1

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by Burnie »

Hi Marc.

The Vin number is: VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff] it's a Citroen Relay 2012 L3 H2 HDi

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok leave it with me. I’m just doing supper duties😇

Burnie
Posts: 8
Joined: 01 Feb 2019, 17:10
x 1

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by Burnie »

Cheers mate

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok. so I need to rewind here.

This is the Relay 3 with Ford Puma 130 engine in (RELAY III VAN LONG WHEELBASE H2 TYPE 16 2.2 HDI 130 PUMA C Manual gearbox 6).

Now these being commercial vehicles have a completely different audio system in, and may some of the variations are still on manual code entries like they were back in the 80s :roll: . These are coded with a 4 digit code.

If I'm right (as there are still several options under this VIN) you have the following unit?
relay.png
relay.png (149.19 KiB) Viewed 300 times
The audio system enters into communication with the built-in systems interface which memorises an anti-theft code referred to as the "Exchange code".
Each time the ignition is switched on (Key On), or if the battery has been disconnected, an automatic recognition procedure is triggered:
  • The audio system screen displays the indication "CANCHECK"
  • If the outcome of the "Exchange code" check is positive, the system is put into service
  • If the comparison codes are different, the audio system screen displays a message which asks the user to enter the secret code ("Master Code"), indicated on the audio system code card, manually.
The 'Master Code' is a 4-digit code from 1111 to 6666 and is preprogrammed at the factory. This is different to the 'Exchange Code' described previously.

Entering the Secret Code
  • When the audio system is put into service, the secret code request displays the indication "CODE" on the audio system screen for 2 seconds, followed by 4 dashes "----".
  • The secret code consists of 4 digits from 1 to 6 which correspond to each of the dashes.
  • To enter the first digit of the code, press the corresponding station pre-selection button (from 1 to 6). Insert the other digits of the code in the same way.
  • If the four digits are not entered within 20 seconds, the screen displays the indication "CODE" again for 2 seconds, followed by 4 dashes "----".
  • When the fourth digit has been inserted (within the 20 -second period), the audio system comes into operation.
  • If an incorrect code is entered, the audio system bleeps and the screen displays the indication "CODE" for 2 seconds followed by 4 dashes "----", to indicate to the user that a correct code must be entered.
  • After 3 attempts, the audio system considers the last code "incorrect".
  • Each time the user enters an incorrect code, the waiting period increases ( 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 30 minutes, then 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 24 hours).
The waiting time is displayed on the screen with the indication "RADIO BLOCKED, WAIT".
When this indication disappears, the code entering procedure can begin again.

The maximum waiting period is 24 hours.

So I would check to see if you have the code as this may be one of the reasons why it is working intermittently.

Burnie
Posts: 8
Joined: 01 Feb 2019, 17:10
x 1

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by Burnie »

Blumin heck Marc how do you know all this stuff? You are right... that is my radio. I did expect to see something like a code come up but there is nothing on the screen and no power it seems to the unit. When I press the radio on switch nothing happens. It's like the fuse has gone. No display, sound or light. I could do with removing the radio unit and seeing if there is a live to it. I need to look up online how to do that. I don't have any hand books with the van so unfortunately no code or anything, unless it's printed on a label on the back of the unit which I doubt very much. I have a feeling it may be an expensive fix by Citroen. I served my time on British Leyland Minis and the like, so much easier than modern vehicles. I do very much appreciate you taking the time to help me and and I will keep you posted to any new developments. Are you a Citroen Mechanic? Cheers

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by GiveMeABreak »

What I will do tomorrow is locate the correct fuses for you to check. So hang fire until then.

If there is no power to the unit then it is possible that it is the fuse, connector, CAN network or even a faulty radio.

I’ll have a look in the morning for you.

User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 6564
Joined: 21 Dec 2015, 13:46
x 1133

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by white exec »

The radio will have a fuse in its rear face.
Should be two live feeds to it: one perm live, one via IGN switch.
An additional fuse also elsewhere.

The four holes at the edges of the unit are the release sockets. Just insert a piece of wire coat hanger all the way into each (or a couple of U-shaped pieces), and the unit should pull out.

If the code is lost, you can either get it from Citroen (on proof of ownership) or instantly from here:
http://radio-code.co.uk, where all you need is the unit's serial number.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by GiveMeABreak »

They don’t cover these Chris. This is a Delphi unit, those people don’t cover this manufacturer.

This vehicle has Ford, Fiat and PSA architecture to complicate issues.

Burnie
Posts: 8
Joined: 01 Feb 2019, 17:10
x 1

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by Burnie »

Hi Marc and Chris,
I will get onto that this morning and hopefully can get the radio out with your 'removal wire tip' and see if the fuses are intact.
I did seem odd to me as the radio wasn't working when I got the van, then it did work for about a day after having the battery disconnected and then it went off again and hasn't worked since. It's very kind of you to help me with this and it sounds like you are a wealth of knowledge. You should be working for Citroen! So thank you for all this. I will venture out into the snow with my coat hanger as see how I get on. I will get back to you with an update. Cheers

User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 6564
Joined: 21 Dec 2015, 13:46
x 1133

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by white exec »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
02 Feb 2019, 10:00
They don’t cover these Chris. This is a Delphi unit, those people don’t cover this manufacturer.
I didn't check that. Pity. There are other similar sites.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Hi I'm Burnie new to the group

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so there are only 2 fuses related to the audio system that I can detect oin the vehicle network and 1 fuse in the back of the unit itself. The vehicle fuses are both on the BSI.

There is a 10A fuse on the back of the unit which I would check first of all:
Relay Audio.PNG
BSI: F49 (5A) (Parking assistance ECU, Audio system, Controls at the steering wheel, control panel, Battery cut-off ECU), so should not be this if your parking assistance is working ok.

BSI: F36 (10A) (Audio system, Air conditioning control, Alarm, Tachograph, Battery cut-off unit, Webasto Timer).

On this vehicle the BSI is located on the right hand, not the left.
Relay BSI A.PNG
BSI Relay B.PNG
  • Remove the bolts (at "a").
  • Detach then remove the trim (1).
It may not be necessary, to gain access to the fuses, but if it is, then also
  • Remove the bolt (2).
  • Detach then remove the trim (3).

BSI Fuse Diagram - I have highlighted the fuses with a red marker.
Relay BSI.PNG