3008 (2013) radio stopped working

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

Zuberismail
Posts: 10
Joined: 24 Jul 2023, 14:08
x 1

3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Zuberismail »

Hi, I wonder if anyone can help.
My radio stopped working, along with, nav, parking sensors etc. The slot makes a sound like it wants to eject, every 10 seconds. The screen is also blank. I've tried a reset by pressing the eject for 10 seconds, the screen moves forwards and then back once.

I've checked all fuses etc and nothing.

I've searched this and other forums, found other people with the same issue, but I can't find a solution.

Opened the unit up and removed the SD card, diskgenius on my pc shows 3 partitions. Two about 1.5 GB and one at 7gb. This last one shows damaged.

Could this be my issue?

I can view all the files. I tried cloning, but the cloned one also shows the third partition as damaged.

Is there a way of obtaining a copy of the SD card, or the files online somewhere?

Any help would be greatly appreciated....it's doing my nut!
Attachments
16903148818829167375865677475777.jpg
16903148697357677872224135378836.jpg
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 25 Jul 2023, 21:20, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to RT6 Forum
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38098
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5915

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It's likely the MicroSD card has or is failing. This can also happen if you have upgraded the firmware to V2.86 and it has not installed correctly.

I wouldn't suggest you do anything with the partitions in Windows, because the system uses a different operating system and you can easily corrupt the files and partitions as Windows leaves system files on the media.

There is one partition with the user files and also the vehicle configuration data that if corrupt, damaged or missing will leave the system unbootable like you are experiencing.

Do you know the current version of Firmware that was on the system? If not, you may have no choice but to try and use V2.86 to recreate the partitions and operating system. However, if you have not been able to take a backup of the use configuration partition using Mirascripts, then there is little chance of doing so in its present condition.

I suggest you replace the MicroSD card for a new one and install V2.86, but be warned this may still require a dealer visit to configure the unit with the vehicle options like parking assistance, language etc., which can't be done using Diagbox. The ECU will go into secure mode and needs dealer level connected access to restore the options.

Relevant Guides Below

How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6

Official RT6 Firmware Upgrade Instructions
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Zuberismail
Posts: 10
Joined: 24 Jul 2023, 14:08
x 1

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Zuberismail »

Thankyou for that speedy reply!

I have no idea what the firmware is.

It is the , 7gb partition that shows damaged, I think that's the nav portion.

I copied over all the files on to my hard drive, I also made an image backup of the 3 partitions.

Thanks again.
Zuberismail
Posts: 10
Joined: 24 Jul 2023, 14:08
x 1

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Zuberismail »

Gave it a shot, but I think the SD card data is beyond repair. Is there a way to get a copy of the internal SD card?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38098
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5915

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No - otherwise you are copying corrupt data or missing data from one card to another - which defeats the purpose.

The firmware recreates the partitions automatically along with installing the operating system. If you haven't already managed a backup of your vehicle and user data using Mirascripts, it's likely it will need reconfiguring afterwards which is likely a dealer intervention. This depends to a larger degree on what your original firmware version was before using V2.86b.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
Posts: 11582
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 1212

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Peter.N. »

I had something very similar happen with my C5, no radio, satnav or parking sensors. I found that there was no 12v supply to the radio on the red/pink lead, the ignition switched supply. The permanent supply on the yellow lead was still there though, It seems to be fed from the BSI and I didn't want to get involved with that so I fitted an aftermarket radio and satnav, still no parking sensors though so I tried connecting that to the red input - still nothing.

If you find an easy way of fixing it I would be very pleased to know.

Peter
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38098
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5915

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by GiveMeABreak »

This is an RT6-Specific issue Peter with the internal flash MicroSD card, and an all too common issue with these units concerning card failure.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
Posts: 11582
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 1212

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Peter.N. »

Thanks Marc

Quite a coincidence that it gives the same faults as mine, different radio mind. Do all C5s use the same BSI? only I have just scrapped the red one and have a complete set of spares at the moment.

Peter
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38098
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5915

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No this is a head unit fault - specific to the RT6, nothing to do with the BSI Peter. Specifically it uses flash memory for the unit functionality and operating system. Flash memory has a finite number of write cycles before the data becomes corrupt. It is this small card that fails and leads to malfunction and boot issues.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
Posts: 11582
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 1212

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Peter.N. »

OK I was just wondering if the BSI from the red one would work in the silver one, both 2008 models but the silver one has all the bells and whistles.

Peter
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38098
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5915

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No. The BSIs are programmed to the engine ECU and transponder in the fobs. They are not swappable and be warned that if you connect another BSI to another vehicle the mileage will swap to whichever is the highest once connected (either in the BSI or in the instrument panel ECU). Further the BSIs are configured differently for the specific engines, factory options.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
Posts: 11582
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 1212

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Peter.N. »

Thanks Marc.

I have fitted an aftermarket radio and satnav now, I thought that would be the best option - the wife misses the parking sensors though.

Peter
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2023
Posts: 13763
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 3015

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Peter.N. wrote: 30 Jul 2023, 11:48 ... the wife misses the parking sensors though.
Just so long as she also misses the bollards, lamp posts, etc..
James
ex BX 1.9
ex Xantia 2.0HDi SX
ex Xantia 2.0HDi LX
Ex C5 2.0HDi VTR
Ex C5 2.0HDi VTR

C5 2.2HDi VTX+
Yes, I am paranoid, but am I paranoid ENOUGH?
Out amongst the stars, looking for a world of my own!
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
Posts: 11582
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 1212

Re: 3008 (2013) radio stopped working

Post by Peter.N. »

:-D