Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

Swiper
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 May 2022, 11:40

Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by Swiper »

Hi,
This is my first post here :)
I have a plan to replace my RD4 with RD45 radio (I need USB and BT). I already bought RD45 (version with black front plastic in attachment) from aliexpress but a little different version.

The first thing is front plastic... I tried to change it but it does not fit, the only solution is to break the plastic teeth... Is there some other solution?

The second thing is related to the antenna. On my old radio, there are two antenna connectors, on the new one, there is only one connector. Is this configurable via diagbox somehow? I tried it a few days ago and I did find a signal for my favorite radio station when I tried it outside of the city. At the same location, my old radio signal was perfect. I replaced it one more time to check and with a new one was definitely missed. In the city (area with a stronger signal) radio station signal is perfect with both devices.

The third thing is my "old" display. I have a type-c display but with old software. What is a minimum software version which supports BT/USB?

And the last one, if I change the front plastic, would be button TA/PTY work as is or as MUTE?

Thanks :)
Attachments
viber_image_2022-05-13_10-31-05-189.jpg
viber_image_2022-05-13_10-31-05-014.jpg
viber_image_2022-05-13_10-31-04-489.jpg
viber_image_2022-05-13_10-31-04-161.jpg
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28435
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3475

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so these are not official PSA units for a start, so I can't help you with the stuff they sell on Ali*

You're old unit may have had a Dual Tuner, hence the two antennae ports. This means that whilst the FM station is being listened to, the other tuner is scanning ahead to always find the strongest signal and will switch to it. The unit you have may only be a single tuner, hence the reason why the signal is not as good and you may have to re-tune the station manually.

The EMF-C Screen software should be at least V72.2 or higher.
Swiper
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 May 2022, 11:40

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by Swiper »

Thanks for the answer. My bad, unit is from ebay, not ali*, but it was arrived from China :)
I will try to buy another one, with at two antenna ports. There is also RD45 with 3 antenna connectors, what is the third one?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28435
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3475

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Some units may have had DAB functionality, so that would be for the DAB aerial if the option was available depending on vehicle / country.
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 8098
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 543

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by xantia_v6 »

The unit that you have bought is probably a genuine PSA RD45 that has been removed from a car destined for an Asian market. You can try connecting your other antenna cable instead of the one with matching colour, it may work better.

The front panel of the RD4 can be made to fit by trimming the plastic tabs and maybe tweaking the metal case a little. The button to the right of the CD slot can be swapped over.

The RD45 with 3 antenna connectors will work (it is what I fitted), but the green (DAB) connector is useless.
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 8098
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 543

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by xantia_v6 »

I also remember that the RD45 can be programmed to have active or passive antenna(s). The 308 requires it to be set for active, or the performance is very poor.
Swiper
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 May 2022, 11:40

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by Swiper »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
17 May 2022, 14:02
The EMF-C Screen software should be at least V72.2 or higher.
Are you sure about the minimum version? I saw on eBay that people sell "radio + display" with software version 71.3.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28435
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3475

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It can be a bit hit and miss, so I often advise a little higher if possible.
Swiper
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 May 2022, 11:40

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by Swiper »

OK, thanks.

Does an item like this fit my requirements?
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Car-Screens- ... 2518.l4276

This display would work on my old radio (RD4) while I am waiting for a new one?

Or tell me some cheapest portal with stuff like this :) It looks too expensive for one display.
Swiper
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 May 2022, 11:40

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by Swiper »

One more question... :(
Does this radio fit my requirement?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/354029518161?h ... SwYsliaBEE
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28435
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3475

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by GiveMeABreak »

If you can't already find the info you need on the Forum, we do ask for a membership upgrade for official parts data as we are in turn charged for this. It will cover you for future parts requests for up to 2 years, so excellent value.

If interested, links are below, then pop your VIN up.
A response to your question by a Forum Admin requiring parts or additional information requires you to have made a current contribution (£10 min.) to the Forum.
To Upgrade Your Membership & Donate Click Here

For Further Information About Vehicle Parts and VIN Numbers Click Here
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 8098
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 543

Re: Peugeot 308 (2008) RD4 -> RD45

Post by xantia_v6 »

That one has dual tuners, so should work, but it appears to have a narrow front panel, so you would need to modify your RD4 panel to fit. It would likely need reprogramming with diagbox to set the. Correct options for your car.