RT4 Issues

This unit is the RT4 and RT5 system and is made by Magneti Marelli
Main differences between RT4 & RT5 - RT5 has Bluetooth Hands Free, faster Navigation calculation and on C4 & C4 Picasso only, USB ports and a High-Res screen.

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

aerodynamica
Donor 2023
Posts: 1300
Joined: 26 Dec 2007, 19:10
x 98

RT4 Issues

Post by aerodynamica »

Uh oh it's taking an occasional new wobble!

Restarting there and the satnav was inoperable. Shows the following:
20220211_173250.jpg
And no response from any button.

Sound from the aux input still there.

It seemed to reboot and the red led cam on fire a few seconds. It seems to be working fine again but I'm getting worried that the HDD is about to die. I looked at the threads outlining what you do to clone the drive contents and save them to another drive and fit a solid state drive in place of the hdd. Then reload the lot again.

Trouble is I am unsure what you need to install on your pc for this and the hardware.

Had anyone ever actually done this here?
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 11 Feb 2022, 21:50, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Post moved to RT4 Telematics Forum
Graeme M
2008 C5 Exclusive Tourer 2.0 HDi
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 37307
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5714

Re: RT4 Issues

Post by GiveMeABreak »

One tip to save you some grief if you are going down this road - DO NOT fit a Solid State Drive. The RT4 unit you have pictured is designed to be compatible with the earlier PATA interface and therefore they do not support SATA speeds nor the additional SATA commands. A SATA drive may work for a while, but only at the slower ATA speeds, but more importantly, will soon start to grind to a halt as the drive fills up. The operating system used by the RT4 does not support SATA features like TRIM command and this affects how the memory cells on a SSD are handled for re-writes.

I recommend you use a Compact Flash Card (CF Card) which is PATA compatible and uses the same ATA command set if you are going to replace it. You will therefore need an IDE to CF card adapter inside the system.

I've only done this personally on my NG4 Navidrive and wrote a guide on it, but the RT4 is a lot smaller as my NG4 was a double DIN unit and had loads of room in there.

viewtopic.php?t=57430
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
aerodynamica
Donor 2023
Posts: 1300
Joined: 26 Dec 2007, 19:10
x 98

Re: RT4 Issues

Post by aerodynamica »

Thanks Marc, I'll admit I'm not particularly confident about this task.
Graeme M
2008 C5 Exclusive Tourer 2.0 HDi