RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

Hi, I replaced my RT4 with a RT6 in a Citroen C5 (from 2008), everything works great. Only the German special characters (ÄäÖöÜü etc) of the navigation instructions of the smaller cockpit-matrix-display above the steering wheel are displayed incorrectly. In the large display, however, everything is correct. Is this due to the outdated BSI software? With the RT4 everything was displayed correctly. The RT6 originally comes from a French Jumpy. I have already changed the language to "German". Thanks for your help!
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi

This is because the C5 X7 also has an ECU for the instrument panel and you need to change the language to German in there too. The code you need to put in the parameter is: 0x02 for German, under 'Driver Language Parameter. If it is currently French, the parameter should be showing as 0x00.

So run your Global Test, then from the ECUs listed look for one that represents the instrument panel (look for the relevant icon on the left to help you), then select that and you should find some configuration options. Make sure you don't have too high a Diagbox version or you may not have the telecoding option. Stick to 7.62 if you can and no higher if you have issues.
koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

Thanks for your help!The language in the cockpit control unit is already set to "German". Is that what you meant? It's a German Citroen C5 with an RT6 from a French Jumpy.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Language is in at least 2 locations:
1) The RT4
2) The Instrument Panel Cluster ECU (not the Multi Function Display that the RT4 uses. I mean the ECU in the instrument panel that houses the small dot matrix display where the speedometer and rev counter are.
koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

Thx, both in the RT6 and in the cockpit ECU the language is set to "german". Nevertheless, I have problems with the special characters. As if a wrong encoding is set ...
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Are you saying the navigation instructions in the smaller instrument panel dot matrix are already in German, just not the umlaut symbols?
koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

yes! that is exactly the case ...
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, that's a misunderstanding Koelner. I thought you had French in the Matrix display. So it seems you have done everything correct. I can't help you with that one. Are you using official maps or modified ones from another vehicle manufacturer like BMW? I know that unofficial maps not from PSA can cause issues with accents in some European languages.

If not that, you may have to suffer it! :-D
koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

I use the official PSA Maps 2021 ...
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by GiveMeABreak »

If you could find another X7 owner with RT6 in Deutschland and see if they have the same issue, it may help determine if this is a normal behaviour or not?
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5795
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 930

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by Paul-R »

I don't think there is an unofficial update of the map database for RT6 units. I am aware of the unofficial SCDB speed cameras update for RT6 only but have never used it on my C5 X7.
koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
26 Aug 2021, 09:34
If you could find another X7 owner with RT6 in Deutschland and see if they have the same issue, it may help determine if this is a normal behaviour or not?
Yes, I know of other x7s with the RT6 in Germany where the special chars (umlauts) are displayed correctly. However, these are cars that were factory-equipped with the RT6 (>2012). Mine was originally fitted with the RT4 (built in 2008).
koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

config
config
Does anyone know what the sub-item "Nav_export_Unicode" in the menu item "Navigation Data" means? And which values are allowed there? Maybe that will solve my problem :)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28952
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3595

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Where are you getting this from - there is nothing official regarding these values and no settings in the diagnostic tool that can be used to change the internal data of the Head Unit.
koelner
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Jun 2016, 12:06

Re: RT4 to RT6 (RNEG2) Swap Problem C5x7

Post by koelner »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
17 Sep 2021, 14:04
Where are you getting this from - there is nothing official regarding these values and no settings in the diagnostic tool that can be used to change the internal data of the Head Unit.
I‘ve read out the userconfig with Mirascripts and searched for possible matching items ...