Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

seagate
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Aug 2021, 07:00

Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

Post by seagate »

Hi im trying to figure out whats the highest version of diagbox i can use on my version b VCI.
Diagbox.GIF


Im using it on a c6 2.7td 2007 so id like to know which version of diagbox would be best for that, i managed to install version 7.02. Some ecus doesnt show up.
Can the VCI be "bricked" if its loaded with too high firmware from the diagbox upgrade patches ?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25167
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2781

Re: Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

You won't brick the ECU - but you will be restricted on a revision 'B' to low versions of DB 7 like 7.02.

You really need to update your VCI to a full chip kit, then update it to 7.58 or 7.62 max and stay at that version to make use of all the telecoding features. Versions above 7.62start to have configuration functionality removed gradually on some models.
seagate
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Aug 2021, 07:00

Re: Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

Post by seagate »

Ok, but how does this work ?:
viewtopic.php?t=59742
This intentionally only covers versions from 7.02 to 7.76:

DiagBox v7.02 needs 4.3.0
DiagBox v7.57 needs 4.3.2
DiagBox v7.58 needs 4.3.2
DiagBox v7.62 needs 4.3.3
DiagBox v7.66 needs 4.3.3
DiagBox v7.74 needs 4.3.3
DiagBox v7.76 needs 4.3.3
Is that only for fully chipped c version, or will my b version support diagbox upto v7.56, it looks like it has 4.3.0 firmware?
The ecus not communicating are for the directional projector lamps and maybe some other.
Looking at the VCI circuit board it looks like its made to be fully chipped, is that something that can be done DIY?
Is it somewhat safe (anything can fail) to try to load higher versions of Diag box and VCI firmware without bricking the VCI?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25167
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2781

Re: Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The missing hardware can be Optocouplers (or Opto-isolators), resistors and some other hardware / chips, so regardless of the firmware you put on, if it hasn't got all the electronics, it won't work and you probably find it won't communicate with some or all of the ECUs of later multiplexed vehicles.

Those are just the firmware versions that Diagbox V7.** automatically installs tot he VCI hardware according to the update you are installing.

There's no exact answer because it depends on your vehicle, the year, the type of multiplexing used and of course the BSI and how new the other ECUs are on the vehicle. That's why a lot of revision B units had to stick to lower software versions like V7.02 - and for some older cars, Diagbox V5
seagate
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Aug 2021, 07:00

Re: Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

Post by seagate »

I'll do some trial and error and see what it can do
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11883
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1465

Re: Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

I have a complete version B unit, and I somehow have got it up to DiagBox 7.15. I have been told this should not be possible, but it does work (I did find that 7.16 does NOT work with it though).
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25167
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2781

Re: Max Diagbox for version B vci ? for a c6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Like I said, it depends on the vehicle model, year and electrical equipment fitted ....