Change language

This section is for General Enquiries or for Systems not Covered Above

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

C5Thomas
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Jul 2021, 15:00

Change language

Post by C5Thomas »

I have a C5 2.0 Exclusive Break -05 and I want to change language in the GPS.
When I try does it reply's “Insert the configuration CD”.
Tried with Lexia but It says NO dialog with the multimedia screen and NO dialog with the radio.
The GPS and radio works perfect but I want to change language from German to English.
Anyone who knows what to do :?: :?: :?:
Last edited by C5Thomas on 12 Jul 2021, 07:45, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Change language

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Pop your VIN up so I know what system you have.

I suspect for the year you have the RT3 system. If that is the case, you need the original Firmware CD to change the language. You can't do it with Lexia. It is important that you have the correct version of firmware on CD (CAN or VAN) as there were 2 systems and cannot be mixed or you will brick the system. Once you have the correct CD for your system, it is a matter of inserting it into the CD player and starting the vehicle - then changing the language from the menu and it will read and replace all the language files on the head unit.
C5Thomas
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Jul 2021, 15:00

Re: Change language

Post by C5Thomas »

VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Change language

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, confirmed - you have the RT3 system. So next question is which version CAN or VAN you have (I suspect CAN), but do the following to check:

1) Switch the power on
2) Hold down the MENU button until you get the extended menu
3) Select DEVICE DESCRIPTION
4) The software version will then appear

Let me know what it says or take a picture of the screen and upload it to the Forum using the full post editor button / attachments/ browse to photo/ then use PLACE to put the picture in line with the text where you want it.

Do you have the original CDs for the system that came with the car in the handbook usually with the map CDs?
C5Thomas
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Jul 2021, 15:00

Re: Change language

Post by C5Thomas »

Sorry for the late reply but this is what it looks like.
IMG_20210817_192941_resized_20210817_073300619.jpg
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Change language

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so better late than never :-D

So that indicates you have the CAN version.

I will send you a Private Message with Details.