Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

Ferreira
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jan 2021, 21:34

Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by Ferreira »

Hey guys, my father has a 2008 Citroen C5 and he has just bought an OEM LCD screen and an OEM upgraded head unit for his car, the issue is the little brown connector on the LCD is smaller than the standard monochrome display.
Is there an adapter of some sorts for this connector ?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by GiveMeABreak »

You have to ensure you get the correct screen for the correct head unit - they are all different and need to be compatible as the screens are not just screens, they also contain an ECU which has to be compatible with the other systems.

So it all depends on what system you had originally and what you have bought to replace it.

Ferreira
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jan 2021, 21:34

Re: Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by Ferreira »

He bought a RD45 unit with the monochrome display, so stock I'm thinking it came with an RD4, everything fitted correctly since it was still a small monochrome display in the center of the dashboard, now this one came from a C5 that was 3 years newer (maybe that's the case for this compatibility issue) because the guy was going to scrap the car and my dad bought the LCD and head unit for a bargain, the head unit's code is NG4 96738861zd if I'm not mistaken and the LCD I think it's a LB070WV1 that equips the C5 and some Mercedes models from what I read. The car also has sensors front and back.

The problem is this little brown connector it's just a tiny bit different.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok this doesn't make sense to me. The NG4 is a double DIN head unit (Navidrive 3D system) and does not work with the small monochrome LCD displays fitted to cars with the RD4 or later RD45.

Post your VIN up so I can see what you had from the factory, and post a picture of the new system for me so I can see what you have.

Look in the main telematics Forum here:

viewforum.php?f=44

There are pictures of the most popular systems so you can identify the Head Units.

Ferreira
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jan 2021, 21:34

Re: Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by Ferreira »

I'll give you the VIN tomorrow because my dad already went to sleep.
I know for sure he had the the rd4 from the factory, then he upgraded to the rd45, now he bought the complete set for the NG4 (screen and head unit), he also bought the dash frame to fit the bigger display

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so if you had mentioned that in the first place it would of helped as we now know the background.

Are you aware that most NG4 systems also came with a Services module? This is the emergency system for service and SOS calls that is a separate unit that connects to the NG4 unit too? That unit is hidden in the dash and has the microphone, emergency speaker connections and Airbag trigger wire and also connects to the SIM card module that would be fitted in the glovebox. It is an autonomous system used for geolocation in the event of an emergency. If you don't have the Citroen Chevron Buttons or the Red SOS button, then you won't have had this fitted and that also makes a difference to the wiring connections.

Be aware you will need access to Diagbox to configure the NG4 and the display tot he BSI and set the correct options or it will not work.

This is the rear of the NG4
NG4 Wiring.PNG
  • "a" Aerial FM2.
  • "b" Aerial TV2 (for Japan).
  • "c" Aerial TV1 (for Japan).
  • "d" MQS cable connector.
  • "e" 3-part connector.
  • "f" GPS aerial .
  • "g" Aerial FM1/AM.
  • "h" LVDS 2 cable connector.
  • "j" USB socket connector.
  • "k" LVDS 1 cable connector.
The connection to the large multifunction display uses and LVDS connector (only one as the second connection is not used).

When you bought the NG4, did you have the NG4 wiring harness too as you will need this to wire it in - without that is is useless. Each C5 X7 has a different fascia wiring harness depending on the build date and the options fitted. Your 2008 model was an earlier model before the NG4 was available, and as you had the RD4, you probably don't have the correct fascia harness.

Ferreira
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Jan 2021, 21:34

Re: Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by Ferreira »

My father only bought the head unit and screen, but scratch that idea.
He also has a RNEG head unit, but what i don't is if the LCD is the same for the RNEG and NG4. I guess it might be the same, the little ecu on the back of the LCD might be different. He is going to install the RNEG because for the NG4 he had to almost change the entire center console for it to fit.

I saw a video that in the brown connector it only has 3 small cables attached but my dad's car has 5

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: Citroen C5 Display Upgrade

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The RNEG (MyWay) from Harman Becker is different to the eMyWay (RNEG2 or or RT6) from Magneti Marelli. Both the NG4 and the RT6 systems require the DG4 Hi Res colour screens. The earlier MyWay colour screen will not work with the NG4 or RT6 units.