where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Clemesha
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2021, 10:38

where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by Clemesha »

In our 2008 Citroen C4 grand Picasso, we keep we keep getting a message at about 2 - 5 km that the tire pressures have stopped being monitored. This may happen several times over a long trip. I figured that the TPMS was getting hot and failing. So I went online and got a replacement item 9664023680. I got no help from the seller as to where I should be able to find the unit to replace it. I'm hoping that some of you experienced people can stop me pulling the car into little pieces just trying to fine this monitor part to replace. Best wishes to all on the form Peter
Attachments
TPMS citroen C4.jpg

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22606
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I would strongly suggest you stop replacing parts until you know the cause.

The TPMS does not overheat.
If you have changed the wheels around or replaced the wheels from another vehicle then this is more likely to be the cause! Either that or the batteries in one or more of the sensors in the valves is at end of life. About 10 years is about the life of a sensor - but you really need to have it diagnosed to find out why. Diagbox diagnostics will be able to tell you the issue and probably which wheels are the issues.

What you have in the picture is the ECU and this is 99% unlikely to be your issue. If you replace this then the whole system will not work as the tyre sensors will need to be paired to the new ECU and that won't work if the fault is with one or more of the sensors.

Start with the simplest first, get it diagnosed with Diagbox and then that will point you to the problem if you have not recently changed wheels around.

Clemesha
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2021, 10:38

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by Clemesha »

Thank you for your quick reply,
at the present time we are in complete lockdown, (No going out) . I have an icar OBD2 tool for PSA vehicles. And I hope it arrives this week, to help sort this out. When I had a problem before with the TPMS in one of the wheels sender units, the car it self told me which one needed to be replaced. So this one is a little bit more tricky in that it's intermittent. I will follow your advice and if the new OBD2 tool doesn't recognise the problem we will get the designated PSA tool. Best Wishes Peter.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22606
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The car won't be able to tell you the issue - and won't recommend replacing a sensor - it cannot do that. It will telly you which tyre is underinflated / punctured or not being monitored though. The issue will be the reason why it isn't though. For a car getting on 13+ years it will have have done pretty well on the batteries in the existing sensors, so may well be that the battery is failing and the others may also start to fail if they are the originals too.

Be aware that aftermarket code readers often cannot read the manufacturer - specific fault codes on many ECUs, so be aware of that. If you do manage tyo get the codes, pop them, up here with your VIN and I should be able to tell you what it's not happy about.

Clemesha
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2021, 10:38

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by Clemesha »

Hello there Mark,
Thank you again for your reply and very useful information. 4Years or so ago I did replace the front left-hand sender unit So now it is time to do the batteries in the sender units of the other 3 wheels.
Thank you very much again for your most helpful information. I just have to be able to get out from the Covid lockdown to do i the battery replacement.
Best wishes to All Peter
PS thank you for the offer to key in new units to the TPMS central Module should I need to replace the whole sender because of possible damage.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22606
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I don't think you can replace the batteries in these - they are sealed units. When you replace them you will obviously need to have any new units programmed, and also paired. You will need a suitable diagnostic tool and an exciter tool to do this. Experience also shows that after programming has been completed, you can rarely pair just one of these. Usually the complete set of TPMS sensors need pairing (not coded) again. The main dealer couldn't get mine to behave after 3 visits when he tried to just pair the one problematic sensor - he realised he had to do all 4 and that resolved the issue.

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5177
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 705

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by Paul-R »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 10:39
I don't think you can replace the batteries in these - they are sealed units.
Weeell, there are plenty of videos on YouTube about replacing the batteries in a normally non-repairable sender.


Clemesha
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2021, 10:38

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by Clemesha »

We in Australia have just had the old importer a Singapore company called Sime Darby replaced by I believe the same company who is in charge of the PSA group in the UK that is Inchcape. Living in Perth there is just one dealer on the ground. I hope they have a tech that knows their job.
but I will deal with this once I have sent the units in my hand and in the wheels
Best wishes Peter

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22606
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Paul-R wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 13:21
GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 10:39
I don't think you can replace the batteries in these - they are sealed units.
Weeell, there are plenty of videos on YouTube about replacing the batteries in a normally non-repairable sender.
Exactly - what a mess! Who realistically is going to faff about with all that effort, potentially destroying the circuitry and wreck the unit, and completely destroying the seal. So for most people, this is not really a practical solution.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22606
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Clemesha wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 13:51
We in Australia have just had the old importer a Singapore company called Sime Darby replaced by I believe the same company who is in charge of the PSA group in the UK that is Inchcape. Living in Perth there is just one dealer on the ground. I hope they have a tech that knows their job.
but I will deal with this once I have sent the units in my hand and in the wheels
Best wishes Peter
A main dealer will NOT replace the batteries - they are deemed non-serviceable items.

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5177
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 705

Re: where to find TPMS CPU monitor C4 Picasso 2007-8

Post by Paul-R »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 13:57
Paul-R wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 13:21
GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Feb 2021, 10:39
I don't think you can replace the batteries in these - they are sealed units.
Weeell, there are plenty of videos on YouTube about replacing the batteries in a normally non-repairable sender.
Exactly - what a mess! Who realistically is going to faff about with all that effort, potentially destroying the circuitry and wreck the unit, and completely destroying the seal. So for most people, this is not really a practical solution.
Funny, I take exactly the opposite away after watching that video!