Rd4 not answering phone calls

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

Ard2dabone
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Nov 2017, 23:14

Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by Ard2dabone »

Hi all

Need help, my father's just got a 2011 5008, has what I think is an Rd4 radio with Bluetooth options and a steering wheel stalk with phone symbol on it.

I can get his Samsung S6 connected, shows phone symbol, signal bars and phone provider on radio screen. But it does not show incoming calls, can't answer calls, can't hear any call audio and can't stream any audio.

Seen on some YouTube videos when a phone is connected it shows up as an option under source (radio, aux 1, phone) but a source option of 'phone' doesn't come up.

Does it need to be enabled at dealers like the aux input?

Baffled what I'm missing here, any help appreciated.
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7964
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 520

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by xantia_v6 »

The first thing is that we need to know whether you have an RD4 or RD45?
If the button to the right of the CD slot has the word "MUTE" on it, then it is an RD45.
We can also check with your VIN to determine which system was fitted at the factory.
Ard2dabone
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Nov 2017, 23:14

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by Ard2dabone »

Well I'm not in front of the radio. But I do not remember seeing a mute button and i'm 95% sure, so I believe its the RD4
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by GiveMeABreak »

With the RD4 there was the option of a Hands Free Kit before the RD45 came out with integrated Bluetooth. If you can supply us with your VIN (auto masked from public view on submission) as requested ^ we can ascertain if you had the hands free kit fitted at factory or not, which is an essential starting point really.
Ard2dabone
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Nov 2017, 23:14

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by Ard2dabone »

Not sure about posting the VIN. I'd say definitely no mute button.
Attachments
car stereo.jpg
car stereo 2.jpg
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Read my post - the VIN is masked. The pictures won't help me regarding a hands free kit which is why we need the VIN. The hands free kit if fitted will be hidden in the dash - hence the reason we ask for the the VIN.
Ard2dabone
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Nov 2017, 23:14

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by Ard2dabone »

Sorry Marc, I'm new to the site. How do I send the vin but hide it from public view?
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 12153
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1561

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

The VIN will be masked by the forum software automatically.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Rd4 not answering phone calls

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ard2dabone wrote:
02 Dec 2020, 12:17
Sorry Marc, I'm new to the site. How do I send the vin but hide it from public view?
Just type it out in full in a post leaving no spaces and submit your post, then it gets masked - which only the Admin team can see.