X7 lost Satalites

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 11

X7 lost Satalites

Post by Trainman »

Well, here we are again, the X7 satnaff isn't working, so figuring out that the logical thing to do after making sure the earth was still good, was to replace the aerial booster, does anyone have any idea where its located?

its a 2010 Exclusive Tourer with Rneg

thanks in advance

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21621
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2171

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Steve, I don't have your VIN for the C6. Pop it up and I'll see what system you have.

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 10864
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1106

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Marc, Steve mentioned X7.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21621
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2171

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That's me looking at your bottom signature again :roll:

Thank you James.

Leave it with me Steve.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21621
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2171

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Trainman wrote:
03 Aug 2020, 19:20
Well, here we are again, the X7 satnaff isn't working, so figuring out that the logical thing to do after making sure the earth was still good, was to replace the aerial booster, does anyone have any idea where its located?

its a 2010 Exclusive Tourer with Rneg

thanks in advance
Steve, before you do any faffing, has the car been on lockdown for any length of time?

If so, it can take a a journey of up to 10 minutes of actual driving - (engine running and standing still won't cut it), for the satellites to lock in again after a period of innactivity.

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 11

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by Trainman »

Marc,

Not really, though the battery did go flat, however it’s had a few good runs since, it’s only the last few days I’ve noticed it

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21621
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2171

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so one thing to do too - make sure you have unchecked the synchronise time with GPS signal option. Since the GPS N week rollover happened this can cause not only the time to be incorrect, but can affect the positioning too, leading to incorrect data. You must switch this option off.

As for the Aerial, the GPS Aerial is shared with the GSM of the services module and is on the roof directly - the amplifier module is only for the radio aerials not the GPS.

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 11

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by Trainman »

Cool, thanks I’ll have a check in the morning

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 11

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by Trainman »

Right, had a look at the clock settings this morning, the time and date are correct and the box is NOT ticked, and its still the same, next step I presume is to change the aerial.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21621
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2171

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by GiveMeABreak »

A few things I would suggest.

1) Test the internal GSM phone - does that work (as they use the same aerial)?
2) Before attacking the aerial on the roof, you can purchase a cheap GPS aerial that you can plug into the back of the NG4 (blue connection is the GPS) and stick it on the dash temporarily, then go for a spin. If the satellites come back you'll know it's an aerial issue - if not, then it may be internal to the NG4 unit Steve.
ng4 gps.PNG
Something like this for £6.49:
gps aerial.PNG
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Fit-For-VW-R ... Sw35Be~H5m

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21621
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2171

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Also, to check how many satellites are visible, Press and hold the "SETUP" button, then Select GPS coverage. That will tell you how many satellites it can see.

There is another procedure to reset the system to rule out a software problem, but of course it will mean loss of the your settings (station settings, audio settings, navigation history, paired telephones, telephone contacts, etc.). This clears out the list of satellites and resets the software.

To reset the audio-navigation to zero, follow the procedure below:
  • Press buttons 1-3-5 simultaneously
  • Wait to hear an audible beep
  • Release the buttons 1-3-5
  • Allow the audio-navigation system to restart
Carry out a road test of 5 km using your cheap GPS aerial - if it picks up the satellites, then it will be your original aerial cable or aerial. If it still does not locate any satellites after this, then the unit may be faulty.

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 11

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by Trainman »

Thanks Marc,

I’ll try the reset first, I’ve already done a factory reset, but that didn’t work.

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 11

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by Trainman »

Did the reset today and it’s the same, replacement aerial ordered.

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 11

Re: X7 lost Satalites

Post by Trainman »

replaced the antenna this morning and the nav is working again.

Rather than take the headunit out and start faffing, I cut the end off the new antenna and plug off the faulty roof antenna and spliced the 2 together as a temporary fix. I'll get a proper replacement sorted soon.