faulty 'screens' on 806

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Vic Evans
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Nov 2019, 11:59
x 1

faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Vic Evans »

I live in France & today my lhd 1999 (2000 model) Roland Garros spec 806 failed it's 2 yearly CT (French MOT) because the kilometrage could not be read. The little screen along with the other little average consumption etc screen have been illegible for years now but apparently the latest rules fail a car which cannot show how many Km's it's driven.
I'm not bothered about the consumption screen but do need to get this otherwise impecable car through it's CT.
Both screens show part of the info so not completely dead.
Any help as to what the problem might be will be greatly appreciated.
Vic
101_4949.JPG

Online
Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 10243
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 915

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

If you have not already done so please post the VIN up here so Moderators can use it to look up your vehicle and get the right information. For security reasons it will automatically be obscured so only forum staff can read it.

Vic Evans
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Nov 2019, 11:59
x 1

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Vic Evans »

Hell Razor5543 wrote:
27 Nov 2019, 22:35
If you have not already done so please post the VIN up here so Moderators can use it to look up your vehicle and get the right information. For security reasons it will automatically be obscured so only forum staff can read it.
Oops ! forgot that bit.
VIN is VF3**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19524
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1886

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It's obviously not a bulb gone, but looks like the instrument panel itself as the LCD displays have gone. This could be down to a bad connection within the instrument panel itself - the ribbon cables - but as it is both displays I'm more likely to be thinking a connection inside the unit, like a connector that has a bad connection. But it could be the electronics themselves providing corrupt data to the display.

Either way, you're going to need to remove the instrument panel to get it checked by someone if not yourself, or replaced if not a connection.

The part number of the instrument panel for your vehicle is: 6101YA - of course no longer available from Peugeot.

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 17563
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 849

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by myglaren »

I wonder if BBA Reman could fix it?

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7225
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 376

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by xantia_v6 »

Fitting a second hand instrument panel would seem to be the obvious solution, but be aware that when you plug in a panel, the BSI computer checks the mileage recorded in the panel, and it it is different than the mileage stored in the BSI, then the recorded mileage of the vehicle (in both the BSI and panel) will be permanently increased to the higher of the values.

So, if you care about such things, you need to find a panel from a vehicle with lower mileage, or get your panel repaired.

Vic Evans
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Nov 2019, 11:59
x 1

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Vic Evans »

Thanks folks.
I've just taken the panel out & unplugged/replugged the two connectors a few times & the only thing I've achieved is that now , neither of panels show anything.
HELP !

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19524
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1886

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by GiveMeABreak »

If you didn't disconnect the battery first, you may have added to the problem - or hastened its demise. Power must always be removed first and wait for 5 minutes for any data to be saved and the ECU to shut down. Multifunction displays are particularly prone to this and should always have the power removed before disconnecting any connectors.

A bit late now but:

BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure

There are not many of these displays about from searches I've looked at, but one here, although as Mike says, this one below has 303k KMs on the odometer; but having said that, as you can't see what your own mileage is, it probably won't matter to you! :-D

https://bartebben.com/parts/PEUGEOT/806 ... 101ya.html

Vic Evans
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Nov 2019, 11:59
x 1

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Vic Evans »

Cheers Marc
I should have known better after your help with my Citroen screen.
I've just reconnected it & it's now back to where it was before ie illegible numbers so seems like no further damage done.
Looks like I'll need a 2nd hand panel so thanks for your link.

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 732

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Stickyfinger »

It cannot be that hard to have a screen fitted to your existing unit....it would avoid the "extra mileage" being added. If it is a ribbon cable you may be able to DIY it.

Can you get a photo of the back of the unit/screen mounting/connection.

Vic Evans
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Nov 2019, 11:59
x 1

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Vic Evans »

Stickyfinger wrote:
28 Nov 2019, 13:38
It cannot be that hard to have a screen fitted to your existing unit....it would avoid the "extra mileage" being added. If it is a ribbon cable you may be able to DIY it.

Can you get a photo of the back of the unit/screen mounting/connection.
Hi.
I've had the back off the unit & It's all printed circuits. The feeds to the two multi pin plugs connecting the unit are wires in looms. No ribbon cables are visible anywhere.
My old gal has probably done about 260,000 Km now & is only a second car runabout doing about 2,000 Km/year so I'm not bothered about "extra mileage" as long as she passes the 2 yearly control.
The complete unit Marc linked to is only €183 delivered ( about 160 quid) with 3 months guarantee, so, with the proviso that the screens are OK, I'm ordering that.
The car also need a rear wheel bearing changing so for not too much money I'll hopefully get at least another two years out of her.
Thanks for your interest. This really is a great place for help.

Vic Evans
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Nov 2019, 11:59
x 1

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Vic Evans »

Well I ordered, received & fitted the dash unit from Bart Ebben which workd find except the displays are still dodgy with some numbers incomplete.
I got the car through the French MOT with a bit of help from the very amenable tester but now would like to sort out the screen.
Bart Ebben assure me the screen was tested before it left them & have asked "Can you have the plugs and other connections checked and / or cleaned?" so my question is 'how do I do this'? I can only think of using contact cleaner on the plug sockets & work 'em on/off on the unit. I've not a clue where the other ends of the plug looms come from. Any other ideas?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19524
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1886

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I've just remembered I was going to take a look at this for you.... give me a minute.

Ok, this is all I have on the dashboard and unfortunately most of the wiring pin descriptions are missing. But as you can see the odometer display goes into the control module (4000).

Unless there are any user replaceable bulbs inside, I know this isn't much help as it there is no larger diagram to see what the 2 main connectors go to behind the dash.

Image

Vic Evans
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Nov 2019, 11:59
x 1

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by Vic Evans »

Thanks Marc.
I think I'll take the bull by the horns & spray some contact cleaner on the 2 femal plug connections & work them in & out in an attempt to clean any possible muck off the plug & pins on the dash unit. Everything else except the two screens functions perfectly but then so did the original.
I'll let you know what the outcome is but if all fails I've still got 2 years CT (MOT) albeit with an odometer that needs an inspired guess on two digits.
Vic

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19524
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1886

Re: faulty 'screens' on 806

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, and also check the actual wiring into the 2 connectors. There's a distinct possibility that one or more wires or pins may have come loose from the plug itself causing a bad connection. As you've already had the plugs off to connect the new one up I would expect it to be something like that - but give them a clean too. Sometimes the weight of the wire bundles over time with all the movement of the vehicle can work them loose from the connector or the pin itself.