C3 RPO number

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 05 Jun 2019, 18:10

My daughters C3 has failed on emissions. And my lexia will not play!
The car is a 1.4i first registered 07/09/2007. The RPO I am using shows up as a build date of 11/11/2005??
The VIN is VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]. Can the RPO be checked from the VIN?
DSCN0736.jpg

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 16850
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1569

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by GiveMeABreak » 05 Jun 2019, 18:17

Your RPO (build date) is 11155 which is 25th May 2007. You are looking at the wrong number on the tag. :-D Also, you have a C3 II, so make sure you select this 'C3 II' when you come to model selection and not the standard C3, nor the C3 (A51).

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 05 Jun 2019, 18:50

You are a absolute star sir!!

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 06 Jun 2019, 12:28

And the lexia still will not play.
Apart from reading the vin it doesn't seem to see anything else.
I see no reference to C3 II- my options are;
C3
C3 R
C3 PLURIEL
C3 PICASSO [A58]
C3 A51
C3 Ai51
C3 AIRCROSS [Ai58]
C3 PICASSO [Ai58]

A simple OBD reader gets to the ecu ok. Any thoughts, please.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 16850
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1569

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by GiveMeABreak » 06 Jun 2019, 12:46

Ok, so try the C3 R - and are you using Diagbox with encaspulated Lexia or a stand alone version of Lexia?

The Confusion is because in the service documentation they refer to it as a C3 II and in Lexia C3 R.

Click Picture to Zoom
C3 R.png

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 06 Jun 2019, 13:16

All this is a bit deep for me!
I am using Diagbox, but in this session I am only getting Lexia and Scantool options
IIRC on other vehicles I get the Diagbox option, which I have found to be better to get round.

I'm going to try your suggestion of entering C3 R

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 16850
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1569

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by GiveMeABreak » 06 Jun 2019, 13:35

Ok, to keep it as simple as I can... Diagbox is the 'all encompassing programme'. It contains Diagbox software which is only launched for vehicles built around 2007/8 onward. Within Diagbox, there is also the older software called Peugeot Planet 2000 for Peugeot vehicles and Lexia for Citroen vehicles. Both these will be automatically launched based on the age of the vehicle and model. So you have no actual choice in the matter. The scantool option is not relevant in this case.

Lexia and PP2000 are no longer supported, so were rolled up within Diagbox to maintain support for older vehicles. The C3 is a 2007 build so it will only offer you the choice of Lexia or scantool. Always select Lexia in this case.

When you come to use your system on a later vehicle it will automatically launch Diagbox. It's because they developed newer capabilities and compatibility with later vehicles and the newer technologies that needed newer software.

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 06 Jun 2019, 14:13

Thanks for all that info. It's all starting to make sense.
Your suggestion of entering C3 R worked- it opened up 'New Look C3'
Global scan came up with a full up fault log! But so far I can see nothing that might compromise the emissions.
Their is a fault relating to the injectors, but as yet I have not been able to read it.

I have no doubt I will be looking for help as I pick my way through this lot!

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 16850
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1569

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by GiveMeABreak » 06 Jun 2019, 14:57

You should first run the global test then read and clear the faults, then go for a brief run and the run another global test.

That should clear out the old faults and leave the new ones. Post up your VIN and the codes you get for further assistance.

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 08 Jun 2019, 13:21

Ok- cleared the old faults 2 days ago and have had another session.
The only fault to reappear 0571 in the 'injection family' But this fault translates to Permanent Fault- Redundant Brake Switch Problem??

I'm very slowly picking my way through Lexia, but so far nothing jumps out at me.
To back track- car failed Mot on emissions. The tester pulled the plug on the test, he said because the exhaust was so rich it could bugger his machine. Dramatics?- I know not.
The car seems to drive ok- but quite juicy. There is no particular smell that you might expect from a 'stuck choke' situation.
The only other observation is the throttle needs a jab or it does not start.

It should be said that we only just acquired this car. In the last 4 years it has done a total of 3000 miles- all very short shopping trips.
Air filter and oil change is done.

Any suggestions as to a strategy to narrow things down would be welcome.

VIN is VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff] (1.4i C3)

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9548
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 687

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 08 Jun 2019, 13:25

I would see about taking her for 'An Italian Tune-up'. This is, basically, a high speed run on a motorway to get her nicely warmed up and clear the cobwebs out (and blow the exhaust clear). In the past, when I have taken my car in for the MoT, I will take her out an hour or so beforehand to get her nicely warmed up and the pipes are clear. It works; the last two MoTs have had her pass the emissions test on the first attempt.

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 08 Jun 2019, 13:31

Yes I was thinking this might be a start. But Mot tester said that the Cat is likely to be toast.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 16850
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1569

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by GiveMeABreak » 08 Jun 2019, 13:49

Ok, so C3 II 5 DOOR SALOON 1.4 i 75 (TU3A) Manual gearbox 5.

Unfortunately I have little detailed info on that code for this engine short of the Redundant brake switch signal fault that you already mentioned. Normally these are make and break contact switches - where if cruise control is fitted, the engine ECU will disengage the cruise function when the brake pedal is pressed. It is a redundant system so that it still works if there is a fault in the electronic braking circuit for the stop lamps. Although you don't have cruise fitted it might be worth getting the switch tested, as it talks directly to the engine ECU and if faulty may cause some issues.

discv
Posts: 54
Joined: 12 Jul 2017, 17:40
x 2

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by discv » 08 Jun 2019, 13:59

The brake lights are working correctly. Could the switch be tested in Lexia- or are we talking pull it out and stick a meter on it?
I'm puzzled by the term 'redundant'

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 16850
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1569

Re: C3 RPO number

Post by GiveMeABreak » 08 Jun 2019, 14:54

It's a double switch dual function made up of a Principle Brake switch and a Secondary Brake switch. The principle circuit goes to the ABS / ESP ECU and the secondary circuit goes to the Engine ECU. When the pedal is at rest one circuit is active (so on vehicles with cruise control, this will allow the cruise function to be enabled), but when pressed, the first circuit is cut (cutting the cruise function) and secondly applying the brake lights. Information is compared between the 2 circuits. So as you have a code coming up regarding a fault in the redundant switch - I'm suspecting the brake switch is possibly becoming intermittently faulty. It is possible that this could be causing some confusion with the engine management ECU.