DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

DS5 1st model 2012, 2ltr
The satnav/radio fails to start frequently. Often it will start after being left all night then when the engine is switched off from the 1st journey it won't start again.
The screen stays black and I can hear a whirring sound for 2 seconds and then repeated every 5 or 6 seconds even after the engine is switched off and the car locked.
The noise is reminiscent of something trying to engage but as it's all electrical I can't see what.
I disconnected then reconnected battery hoping I might get a reboot but nothing happened.
Any ideas guys. Also I wonder if this unit could be upgraded to the new Android system. If so is this just something a software installation would do?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Post your VIN so we know what head unit you have.

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]

I did a map update last year to the latest at that time but didn't have any problems with it.
The blank screen seems to be on, ie it has a little more light to it than when the car is stationary and all switched off.
Also, there's no turning on or off with the radio buttons. Just the continuous whirring sound.
When it does get going which hasn't been for a couple of days, it takes a fair bit longer to kick in then normal.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok so you have the RT6 system. There is no hard drive in these head units, only flash memory.

The whirring noise will either be a CD in the slot, or the internal fan. It is normal for the fan to remain in after the ignition is switched off. These units can get pretty hot and there is little space for proper cooling.

The blank screen can be due to either a faulty head unit or the screen itself. A diagnostic of the Head Unit EVU should give you some pointers as to where the fault may be.

A firmware update won’t have any bearing in the issue I suspect, as the graphic controller chip might be shot. Can you still get a picture on the screen when engaging reverse gear as you have the rear camera system?

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

Yeah, it sounds like a cd being inserted but there isn't one. I tried inserting one and it just pops back out after a few seconds.
When the thing works, I do get the reverse picture but of course it hasn't worked for a couple of days now.
If it was only the screen faulty I should be able to use bluetooth for my mobile at least but there's nothing at all so I rule out the screen on that basis.

Are there individual parts to the head unit that may be at fault or is it more likely a full replacement job. If there are individual parts then is it likely that the cost having a diagnosis will be disproportionate compared to a new unit?
And what's the android system I have seen on youtube videos? If a head unit replacement is probable can an android be used?

Online
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11681
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1398

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

I wonder if a BSi reset might help?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Lynnzer wrote:
23 Apr 2019, 06:48
Yeah, it sounds like a cd being inserted but there isn't one. I tried inserting one and it just pops back out after a few seconds.
When the thing works, I do get the reverse picture but of course it hasn't worked for a couple of days now.
If it was only the screen faulty I should be able to use bluetooth for my mobile at least but there's nothing at all so I rule out the screen on that basis.

Are there individual parts to the head unit that may be at fault or is it more likely a full replacement job. If there are individual parts then is it likely that the cost having a diagnosis will be disproportionate compared to a new unit?
And what's the android system I have seen on youtube videos? If a head unit replacement is probable can an android be used?
The repairs can be quite expensive. These units have been known to fail. A diagnostic by Citroen agent will probably cost you £100 and that’s before any repair. That have to send it off and then the cost is anywhere between €400 plus. Others that have had this problem have just replaced the head unit. All that takes is for it to be re-coded to your VIN and any relevant options configured.

I would not recommend replacing the head unit. The head units are not just the telematics system as you probably know, they also operate some of the functions of the vehicle including some of the configurations options which you will lose if you replace with another head unit.

I know you said you already disconnected and reconnected the battery already, but follow the proper procedure in my post below, because it’s essential that the process has enough time for the ECUs to reinitialise.

viewtopic.php?f=51&t=61997

Lynnzer
Posts: 113
Joined: 09 Dec 2004, 19:55
x 9

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Lynnzer »

I take it that you mean not advising replacing the head unit with Android?
However replacement of the head unit on a like for like basis is OK, but expensive anyway?
Are these the things? https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from ... t&_sacat=0

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No that’s not the right one. There are about 30 different models depending on options for these units. I have your VIN number so I’ll have a quick look and see what the correct part is for you.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so the part for the unit you want is: 1612068880
DS5 RT6.PNG
Here are a couple of contacts that you might light to call - they can repair these units:

viewtopic.php?f=44&t=60781

Hutch
Posts: 11
Joined: 04 Jun 2019, 18:48

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Hutch »

Hi there I'm just wondering if you managed to fix this problem? I have exactly the same issue, I took it to Citroen today and paid £75 for a diagnostic for them to tell me it needs replacing which costs £1000+. I'm obviously looking for an alternative way to fix it. My issue is very similar, it's stuck in the boot screen (which shows the Peugeot symbol) however it does sometimes work and the reverse camera works. I'm wondering if there is a part that needs replacing or can I reset/update the software?

Any help would be much appreciated
Andy

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi Andy - I doubt whether a firmware update will fix this issue, I suspect the internal storage card has become corrupt. There is no hard drive on these so the boot files are stored internally on flash chips. Either the files need re-flashing (requires specialist software and a direct interface to the unit's board) or the chip may need replacing.

Hutch
Posts: 11
Joined: 04 Jun 2019, 18:48

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by Hutch »

Thank you I will look into that, do you know of anyone in the north east of England who might be able to fix it for me?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

This is a list of some repairers for the RT* units. Clarion are an authorised Magneti Marelli repair centre (who make the RT* units) for PSA. Whe they first started, they did accept repair jobs direct from customers - hopefully they still do.

viewtopic.php?f=44&t=60781

The repairs are pricey - but less than a new unit. The alternative is to try and source an RT6 unit from the bay of evil - though no guarantees of the condition of these or how old they are.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24442
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2671

Re: DS5 intermittent working satnav/radio

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Andy - Just to confirm this is definitely the RT6? I have a possible solution from a French source, but am in the process of translating the information. When I have, I will get something up which may fix your problem. It's what I was talking about in my last post and involves replacing the internal SD card. I'll sort something tomorrow, so watch this space.