RT4 software question

This unit is the RT4 and RT5 system and is made by Magneti Marelli
Main differences between RT4 & RT5 - RT5 has Bluetooth Hands Free, faster Navigation calculation and on C4 & C4 Picasso only, USB ports and a High-Res screen.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Bandit12
Donor 2020
Posts: 385
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 11:35
x 9

RT4 software question

Post by Bandit12 »

hi guys
I've fitted a USB to my RT4, burnt all my music to media player then put it all onto a USB stick. Only issue is that some of the music wont play as its a wma file instead of MP3. Is there a software update or setting for the RT4 that will overcome this? Alternative is to work out which albums are wma then re-rip etc.

Any advice is appreciated

Bandit
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11883
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1465

Re: RT4 software question

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

When I use Windows Media Player to rip my CDs I have set it to the highest quality, and to MP3 format. I can then (for my van) copy the files to a USB stick and it handles them without any issues.
User avatar
EDC5
Donor 2020
Posts: 1216
Joined: 01 Jul 2017, 21:48
x 104

Re: RT4 software question

Post by EDC5 »

The RT4 will only play mp3 as far as I'm aware, you can either re-rip the CD's in mp3 format or use iTunes to convert to mp3.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25167
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2781

Re: RT4 software question

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That's correct, the RT4 doesn't support WMA files.
User avatar
Bandit12
Donor 2020
Posts: 385
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 11:35
x 9

Re: RT4 software question

Post by Bandit12 »

Thanks for that guys, was hoping for a simple fix and really unsure why some files are in different formats. No worries tho and I'll go through my music re ripping into MP3 :)

Bandit
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25167
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2781

Re: RT4 software question

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Some of the later units also support the Windows Media Audio format but not the RT4. I was going to suggest a converter, but to be honest it will be just as quick to rip again where you can choose your bit rate etc.
User avatar
Bandit12
Donor 2020
Posts: 385
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 11:35
x 9

Re: RT4 software question

Post by Bandit12 »

All sorted! I spent an entertaining afternoon re ripping my many cds n then syncing onto a flash drive. Works a treat. Many thanks :)
Florrynel
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 Nov 2016, 18:22

Re: RT4 software question

Post by Florrynel »

Check this out, software update + maps
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Latest-2016- ... 3421770030
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25167
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2781

Re: RT4 software question

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I don’t think so! The pictures in that listing show an NG4 Navidrive 3D not an RT4 - another eBay fail where the seller doesn’t know the difference :roll:
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7843
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 502

Re: RT4 software question

Post by xantia_v6 »

To be fair, the pictured disks appear to be RT4/RT5
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25167
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2781

Re: RT4 software question

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Caution needs to be exercised though, as invariably these will not be original discs, but copies and the risk of bricking a unit increases significantly, potentially costing £000s to repair.