So far unsolvable clutch fluid leak

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

PopPops
My Cars: 2010 Peugeot 207 Auto Sport
2004 Land Rover Discovery 2 TD5 Auto
Citroen CX GTI Turbo 2, sadly no more…
Citroen GSA, sadly no more…

So far unsolvable clutch fluid leak

Post by PopPops »

Hi Everyone,

My Synergie hdi (actually LHD Evasion) has a leak where the hydraulic pipe enters the clutch master cylinder, and so far, I cannot find a solution. The original problem was the pedal getting closer to the floor and "sinking" while holding the clutch disengaged. I assume master or slave cylinder seals and found the pedal area saturated with fluid. I got a brand new master cylinder and also a couple of the little rubber seals, ECC215615, from EuroCarCare.net. As everything was brand new, there shouldn't be a problem? Wrong!

When pressing the pedal fluid immediately come out of the area where the pipe goes into the master cylinder. I've tried another seal - the same. I've checked the pipe, assuming it may have a fracture but it all looks fine. I've rigged up something to pressure test the pipe reasoning air should leak faster than fluid, but can detect no leak, so now I am completely stumped. I have ordered the complete seal assembly from EurocarCare but as there seems nothing wrong with the plastic bit that holds the pipe in place, I don't hold out much hope here either.

Has anybody had and solved this problem? I think this system is common to quite a few Citroen and Peugeot models.

Many thanks in advance.

Nigel.
Nigel
PopPops

Re: So far unsolvable clutch fluid leak

Post by PopPops »

Hi again,

The saga continues! After making various test fixtures, it seemed the leak must be in the pipe. I removed the pipe and set up another test fixture and the pipe seems to have an invisible fracture at the swaging, under pressure fluid comes out at this point.