VCI

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Gibbo2286
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 7087
Joined: 08 Jun 2011, 18:04
x 2485

VCI

Post by Gibbo2286 »

Is this 'full chip'?
Attachments
IMGP1685 (2).JPG
Man is, by nature, a lazy beast, he does not need twice encouraging to do nothing.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36402
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5505

Re: VCI

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That looks good to me Gibbo, all the octocouplers look to be there, if you can do a shot of the reverse sides of the PCBs, I can check for the 10k resistor.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Gibbo2286
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 7087
Joined: 08 Jun 2011, 18:04
x 2485

Re: VCI

Post by Gibbo2286 »

Here we are:
Attachments
IMGP1687.JPG
IMGP1686.JPG
Man is, by nature, a lazy beast, he does not need twice encouraging to do nothing.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36402
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5505

Re: VCI

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, that's fine Gibbo - 10k resistor present - if this was missing it causes communication issues - especially on CAN systems.
10k Resistor Present
10k Resistor Present
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Gibbo2286
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 7087
Joined: 08 Jun 2011, 18:04
x 2485

Re: VCI

Post by Gibbo2286 »

Thanks Marc, as I said before I never managed to get any use out of it, maybe the Dell laptop wasn't up to the job. (Or I lack the necessary skill.) :(

If the new gadget from Easydiagnostics works out this one might be for sale to anyone who wants it at a knock down price.
Man is, by nature, a lazy beast, he does not need twice encouraging to do nothing.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36402
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5505

Re: VCI

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That's a shame you never got it talking - but it can be down to the laptop specs Gibbo - plus - having Windows Update service running is a HUGE drain on a low-resourced system when it is updating - (just stopping the update service and process can make a huge difference).

Let us know how you get on with the PSACOM Bluetooth interface (I assume that's what you have ordered).

From what I've seen so far it is an 'Autoscan' product, so not Diagbox.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Gibbo2286
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 7087
Joined: 08 Jun 2011, 18:04
x 2485

Re: VCI

Post by Gibbo2286 »

The Easydiagnostics order is taking a long time to arrive Marc, no sign of it yet.

The old Dell laptop was cleared of everything and reinstalled with XP Windows update turned off but still no joy. Maybe I'll give it another go..........I'm a year older now. :-D
Man is, by nature, a lazy beast, he does not need twice encouraging to do nothing.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36402
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5505

Re: VCI

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I have XP service Pack 3 Gibbo if you want that - it will at least patch it to that level, despite there being no more official updates. Let me know and I'll send you the link in a PM.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2023
Posts: 6864
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 1360

Re: VCI

Post by Paul-R »

GiveMeABreak wrote: 26 Mar 2018, 11:22Ok, that's fine Gibbo - 10k resistor present - if this was missing it causes communication issues - especially on CAN systems.
So, are you saying that some so-called full chip VCIs don't have this resistor Marc? Is this the only example of a full-chip VCI that has another gotcha?
Gibbo2286 wrote: 26 Mar 2018, 11:59... this one might be for sale to anyone who wants it at a knock down price.
Me, me please!
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​
Gibbo2286
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 7087
Joined: 08 Jun 2011, 18:04
x 2485

Re: VCI

Post by Gibbo2286 »

GiveMeABreak wrote: 26 Mar 2018, 16:19 I have XP service Pack 3 Gibbo if you want that - it will at least patch it to that level, despite there being no more official updates. Let me know and I'll send you the link in a PM.


Got that already on a disk Marc thanks.
Man is, by nature, a lazy beast, he does not need twice encouraging to do nothing.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36402
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5505

Re: VCI

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The lack of the 10k resistor is known to cause communication issues with CAN systems (depending on model), but there are a stack of chips, relays and Optocouplers that are not found in the full kits - something the Chinese makers did to reduce costs - which is often why they are much cheaper that the full kits. It becomes more of a problem on later vehicles and full CAN systems - so one has to consider whether it is worth the additional investment in a full chip kit.
I have to say, this is really model - dependent - as you have VAN, VAN-CAN and CAN-CAN :-D systems and of course those with no multiplexing at all, So you pays your money and makes your choice.
Can-Can.png
Then whole VCI clone thing is a minefield TBH, as once you have overcome the hardware, then there is the matter of getting the right combination of software and VCI firmware for the vehicle (s) you need to work with.

I'm pretty lucky with Diagbox switching to Lexia for the Xsara Picasso & C3 and Diagbox for the X7 and I have a good combination. If I was to use if for a 2016 vehicle, then I'd probably need to go to a much higher version to recognise the newer ECUs, that's why reverting back using the firmware changer is very useful as it can resolve some of the incompatibilities.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc