My Xantia HDi Shed

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Supernaut
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 May 2016, 22:34
x 4

My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by Supernaut » 25 May 2016, 11:13

So I got my Xantia.

It's a W reg HDi, with 78k on the clocks and an MOT until next April and stacks of service history. Cosmetically, it's a bit of a shed but everything on it works perfectly, even the air con!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Apart from the driver's seat, the interior is iimaculate. I'll service it at the weekend (oil, oil filter, air filter, plus I've got all-round brake pads).

I already did a couple of repairs on it yesterday, using nothing but loads of contact cleaner. The heater blower fan was inoperative, so I completely dis-assembled it and gave it a load of contact cleaner. The airbag light was blinking too, so I disconnected the battery and cleaned up the connectors under the front seats. No more blinking airbag light!

My plan is simply to drive it as it is and enjoy it (well, looking into a stage 1 map). Who cares about cosmetics?! :-D

User avatar
chinkostu
Posts: 1182
Joined: 24 Sep 2014, 09:41
x 29

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by chinkostu » 26 May 2016, 01:23

Hey you're on reddit too!

Get some leathers in there you won't regret it

User avatar
Supernaut
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 May 2016, 22:34
x 4

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by Supernaut » 26 May 2016, 10:31

Heh, yeah I'm on reddit.

Leathers do sound tempting. I reckon Peugeot 306 front seats would fit...

Mainly because I know that 306 seats fit a 405, and 405 seats fit a Xantia, so surely by that logic 306 seats should fit a Xantia!

Online
User avatar
van ordinaire
donor 2017
Posts: 2331
Joined: 23 Jun 2015, 14:45
x 199

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by van ordinaire » 26 May 2016, 17:36

Supernaut wrote: I reckon Peugeot 306 front seats would fit...

Mainly because I know that 306 seats fit a 405, and 405 seats fit a Xantia, so surely by that logic 306 seats should fit a Xantia!
Just love that logic :-D

User avatar
chinkostu
Posts: 1182
Joined: 24 Sep 2014, 09:41
x 29

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by chinkostu » 26 May 2016, 18:05

Should do!

User avatar
Supernaut
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 May 2016, 22:34
x 4

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by Supernaut » 05 Jun 2016, 17:38

Update time!

Still not done the seat.

However, I've serviced it, remapped it, replaced all the brakes pads (plus copper-greased every moving part on the brakes) and got 4 new tyres and an alignment.

The car now drives a billionty times better than it looks! I think I want to get some proper old-school metal wheel trims / hubcaps for it then just drive it as-is.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41564
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1033

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by CitroJim » 05 Jun 2016, 18:14

How did you remap it?

User avatar
Supernaut
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 May 2016, 22:34
x 4

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by Supernaut » 06 Jun 2016, 11:46

To do a remap, one requires a Galetto lead, or an MPSS lead.

Then, you buy a map and flash it on yourself. I know of a couple of people who do it from my past times on Peugeot 306 forums (I used to have a Ph3 306 HDi estate, which I also mapped).

I bought a stage 1 map from hdi-tuning.co.uk, the guy who runs it is called Steve Lewis and he works really quickly! You take a copy of the original map from the ECU first (then keep it somewhere safe), and send him the original map so he can verify the model of ECU etc. etc. then he sends you a stage 1 that's compatible with it. You can only really do this on the Bosch ECUs though, if you have a Siemens you're out of luck I'm afraid.

xantiamanic
Donor 2016
Posts: 602
Joined: 01 Mar 2016, 15:10
x 20

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by xantiamanic » 06 Jun 2016, 11:48

Interesting. Go on ... give it a go Jim.

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41564
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1033

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by CitroJim » 06 Jun 2016, 12:45

Supernaut wrote:To do a remap, one requires a Galetto lead, or an MPSS lead.
Interesting, so not just one of those piggy-back tuning boxes then... So what difference have you noticed?
xantiamanic wrote:Go on ... give it a go Jim.
Can't. Not got an HDi..

Now if there was a map available for the TCT that upped the boost limit that would be good...

BenC5HDi
Not Mike
Posts: 588
Joined: 30 Nov 2015, 21:21
x 33

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by BenC5HDi » 06 Jun 2016, 12:57

Supernaut wrote:. You can only really do this on the Bosch ECUs though, if you have a Siemens you're out of luck I'm afraid.
Not any more. Vinny from hdi-tuning.co.uk remapped my Siemens 801 ECU on my 2.0 HDi, with a stage 1 remap, up to 123bhp.

BenC5HDi
Not Mike
Posts: 588
Joined: 30 Nov 2015, 21:21
x 33

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by BenC5HDi » 06 Jun 2016, 12:57

CitroJim wrote:
Supernaut wrote:To do a remap, one requires a Galetto lead, or an MPSS lead.
Interesting, so not just one of those piggy-back tuning boxes then... So what difference have you noticed?
I'll show you on Tuesday in the Berlingo Jim when I drop Davie off. A huge difference!

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41564
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1033

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by CitroJim » 06 Jun 2016, 13:09

BenC5HDi wrote:
CitroJim wrote:
Supernaut wrote:To do a remap, one requires a Galetto lead, or an MPSS lead.
Interesting, so not just one of those piggy-back tuning boxes then... So what difference have you noticed?
I'll show you on Tuesday in the Berlingo Jim when I drop Davie off. A huge difference!
Knowing the huge difference between the 90 HDi and the 110HDi I can well imagine there is...

User avatar
Supernaut
Posts: 23
Joined: 16 May 2016, 22:34
x 4

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by Supernaut » 08 Aug 2017, 23:09

Well, after over a year of trouble-free motoring, I encountered a problem today.

I was greeted with this when I started it. This was taken with the engine running:
IMG_20170808_181120.jpg
This prompted me to open the bonnet...
IMG_20170808_181620.jpg
Oh, p**s!

I looked a bit closer...
IMG_20170808_182757.jpg

So, what seems to be happening is that coolant is leaking out of a pinhole to the left edge of that indented circle below the thermostat housing. Liquid metal time, or is it a telltale to let me know the thermostat needs replaced? Help me out here.

I topped up the coolant level and it seems happy enough for now, but when up to temperature there's a fine spray coming out of the pinhole, covering the top hose and the inside of the radiator in sticky coolant residue!

It's a 2.0 HDi 8v 90hp, by the way.


EDIT: It seems to be a core plug. I've ordered a replacement already. This could be fun!

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41564
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1033

Re: My Xantia HDi Shed

Post by CitroJim » 09 Aug 2017, 04:39

Core plugs are easy enough to replace... Pull the old one out by screwing a meaty self-tapping screw into it and then use a claw-hammer or forked pry-bar to pull it out..

Clean up and carefully tap the new one home evenly and gently with a small hammer above a hard wooden pad...