Radweld?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Barbarian

Radweld?

Post by Barbarian »

I bought some radweld as my radiator is leaking a bit. It says on the bottle to heat up the coolant and pour the radweld into the radiator. Does this mean just pour it into the coolant system where you normally would top it up or does this mean pour it into the radiator itself? If so how do u pour it into the actual radiator on the xantia 1.9td?
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

I've no experience with Radweld but I Know Barrs Leaks works.

If Radweld has little bits in it like Barrs, give the bottle a thorough shake up and warm it. Shake it again and just pour it into the expansion tank whilst the coolant is still warm. Water circulates around the expansion tank and anything added will get into the rad soon enough.

Alternatively, you could partially drain, slip off the top hose and pour it into the rad directly but if you go to this extent, you'd may as well drain completely and refill with the Radweld mixed in with new coolant straight into the expansion tank. Indeed it really is not a good idea to disturb rad hoses if you can avoid it, especially those with bayonet connectors although you might be safer puplling the top hose from the thermostat housing and poiring the Radweld in that way.
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
citronut
My Cars:

Post by citronut »