206 stereo (T1 LOW) displaying "ERROR 2"

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
joshm
Posts: 48
Joined: 07 May 2004, 15:16

206 stereo (T1 LOW) displaying "ERROR 2"

Post by joshm » 11 Mar 2006, 18:28

Hi all,

After a recent theft of an aftermarket unit, I refitted my g/f's original radio cassette in the car. At the time I didn't have the code - it was written down in the docs or on the spare key.

Anyway, I return to the stereo later to find that the g/f has been messing with it and it is now displaying "ERROR 2".

Any idea how to get back to the code input screen (I have the code)? Do I need to leave the unit on/off or press any buttons?

Thanks for any advice,

JoshM

User avatar
joshm
Posts: 48
Joined: 07 May 2004, 15:16

206 stereo (T1 LOW) displaying "ERROR 2"

Post by joshm » 12 Mar 2006, 12:14

Additionally, the code I thought was correct could in fact be wrong - it is four letters rather than the expected four numbers. Can anyone confirm whether I have the wrong code?!

The car is on a W plate so hopefully Peugeot might still have some record of it on their database if I give the original dealer a call...

PowerLee
Posts: 1256
Joined: 01 May 2004, 19:49

206 stereo (T1 LOW) displaying "ERROR 2"

Post by PowerLee » 12 Mar 2006, 15:00

The radio code will be 4 numbers.

Its printed on a white card with the key number which does contain letters on a PSA Peugeot / Citroen but normally more then 4.

Or are you looking at the blue plastic security code card? If yes thats for the imobiliser & is no good for the radio code.

Any Peugeot dealer will supply the radio code with proof of ownership, Some will charge a small fee & some might not.

User avatar
joshm
Posts: 48
Joined: 07 May 2004, 15:16

206 stereo (T1 LOW) displaying "ERROR 2"

Post by joshm » 12 Mar 2006, 16:41

Good stuff - thanks PowerLee. It looks like we have the blue card as you suspect. I'll get the g/f to dig around and find the white one - if not I guess it's a trip to the dealers!

Cheers, JoshM

pugxpert
Posts: 281
Joined: 05 Dec 2005, 22:16

206 stereo (T1 LOW) displaying "ERROR 2"

Post by pugxpert » 12 Mar 2006, 17:41

error 4 useally means how many times wrong code has been entered,try holding band button to see if it clears to allow you to enter correct code if not leave radio on without touching igntion untill it say code in or 4 dashes this can take up to 2 hrs

User avatar
joshm
Posts: 48
Joined: 07 May 2004, 15:16

206 stereo (T1 LOW) displaying "ERROR 2"

Post by joshm » 14 Mar 2006, 11:28

[quote="pugxpert"]error 4 useally means how many times wrong code has been entered,try holding band button to see if it clears to allow you to enter correct code if not leave radio on without touching igntion untill it say code in or 4 dashes this can take up to 2 hrs[/quote]

Ah, I see! Thanks. Anyway, got the code from the main dealer so (hopefully) all sorted now. Thanks for your help.