Sat nav update

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Citralex234
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2017, 18:23
x 1

Sat nav update

Post by Citralex234 »

Hi, been a while ,I've now got a C5x7 tourer 64 plate with sat nav which needs updated . I can get that from eBay but all my previous cars had a parrot kit fitted so used voice dial. This has most of the options blanked can it be updated to voice dialing and any other options. Regards John.
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 09 Oct 2023, 10:44, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to Telematics Forums
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36241
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5463

Re: Sat nav update

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No.

It all depends on which system you already have fitted. All Citroen Telematic units have voice commands, but the basic RD4 / RD45 system did not. If you pop your VIN up I can see which system you have. Please post your VIN in full without spaces - it will be automatically masked from public view after submitting your post & will only be visible to staff.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2023
Posts: 6851
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 1358

Re: Sat nav update

Post by Paul-R »

Pretty sure it'll be the eMyWay/RT6 system as fitted to our 63 reg X7.
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36241
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5463

Re: Sat nav update

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Citralex234 wrote: 08 Oct 2023, 16:35 Hi, been a while ,I've now got a C5x7 tourer 64 plate with sat nav which needs updated . I can get that from eBay but all my previous cars had a parrot kit fitted so used voice dial. This has most of the options blanked can it be updated to voice dialing and any other options. Regards John.
and can you be a bit more specific as although you say you have Sat Nav, and assuming you have an RT6, what do you mean when you say options are blanked? What options and blanked where?
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Citralex234
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2017, 18:23
x 1

Re: Sat nav update

Post by Citralex234 »

Hi. VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
PRESS phone button on s, wheel . Screen shows top to bottom.call list, contacts, hands free mode, resume the call, hang up. Only Contacts are highlighted and can't find anyway to change this.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36241
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5463

Re: Sat nav update

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok so you have the RT6 (eMyWay). This system doesn't have voice commands like the NG4 Navidrive system. So basically the phone button on the steering wheel access the phone features. Pressing phone twice should take you to the dial screen.

You need to make sure you have paired your phone beforehand using Bluetooth and allowed contacts permissions to be able to synchronise the contact list in your phone. It can take a while to build up a list though.

The voice command on the end of the left stalk won't operate voice commands with this system, but a long press will recall the last navigation instruction.

Have a read of your manual for a complete description of the system.

If you don't have a manual to hand, follow this link to explain how to access one free from Citroen, and in some cases you can download them as a PDF:

viewtopic.php?t=63208
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
Citralex234
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Sep 2017, 18:23
x 1

Re: Sat nav update

Post by Citralex234 »

Thanks for that, nearly fifteen years I've had voice dialing,get a newer car and can't.progress. Don't suppose anyone has a workaround for this. ? Are the sat nav updates from eBay reliable or is there a better option.regards John.
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2023
Posts: 6851
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 1358

Re: Sat nav update

Post by Paul-R »

Citralex234 wrote: 10 Oct 2023, 14:48Are the sat nav updates from eBay reliable or is there a better option. regards John.
I'll send you a PM about this.
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 36241
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 5463

Re: Sat nav update

Post by GiveMeABreak »

There's no work around for voice commands with the RT6 fitted system, the Head unit does not support them.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc