C5 radio stuck at booting

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

KokoNaut
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 May 2020, 18:34

C5 radio stuck at booting

Post by KokoNaut »

Hello all,

Radio on my C5 is not turning on. It starts booting, citroen logo is shown but nothing more happens it's stuck there.

I've tried unplugging the battery, didn't help. Also tried holding the CD eject button for 30 seconds. Radio rebooted but then again only citroen logo is shown and nothing more happens. It seems like the radio is stuck at booting sequence.

It's 2012 C5 Tourer. I think that updating the firmware could help but I don't know how to do it. If you can point me somewhere or you know how to solve this I would really appreciate it. In original service they said that the radio has to be replaced but I think they just want to make some money.

Here is the VIN code if that can help VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff].
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 25 May 2020, 18:55, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to the Telematics RT6 Forum
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: C5 radio stuck at booting

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It won't be the firmware, most likely the internal SD card is on the way out.

There's a post here about a possible fix:

viewtopic.php?t=63227
KokoNaut
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 May 2020, 18:34

Re: C5 radio stuck at booting

Post by KokoNaut »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
25 May 2020, 18:56
It won't be the firmware, most likely the internal SD card is on the way out.

There's a post here about a possible fix:

viewtopic.php?t=63227
Hi Marc, thanks for your reply. You said it won't be the firmware but the thread you pointed me to is talking about putting new SD card in a installing new firmware :) So I'm kinda confused right now.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: C5 radio stuck at booting

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, because the procedure involves replacing the internal SD card and you need the firmware to reinstall the operating system and create the correct partitions onto the new blank SD card. There is no Hard Drive on the RT6 system, it uses flash memory.

NAND memory cells on SD cards have an expected life of around 10 years. So it is possible (depending on use of course and operating conditions) for these to last longer or shorter. Unfortunately we can't tell what the exact issue is, but some who have replaced the card and reinstalled the firmware have resolved their issues and for others it has not, often meaning the fault is likely with one of the EEPROM chips or elsewhere.

At the end of the day, the cost of the SD card is very low against the cost or a repair or replacement which some may choose to try first. You always have your old SD card that you can replace if necessary. It's really down to what you want to try. Repairs are usually in the region of several hundred Euros regardless.

Sometimes these fail after a later map update which is too large and causes problems, so replacing the SD card one of a larger capacity like 16 Gb often solves the map problem.

There is a chap based in Spain who can fix these, upgrade the SD card and maps. Karim at 'Autronics'. See my post here for details:

viewtopic.php?t=60781
KokoNaut
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 May 2020, 18:34

Re: C5 radio stuck at booting

Post by KokoNaut »

I have another question. If I take the SD card out of the radio put it in computer and I will be able to access all the files on the card. Could I just copy them to the new SD card a try that one? Of couse with all necessary partitions basicaly what I mean is to create exact copy of the previous SD card. Could that work? I'm little bit worried about my BSI settings being restored to defaults.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: C5 radio stuck at booting

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok so this won’t work because the operating system is different (RTOS) for the RT6 and Windows will add its own hidden files (System Volume Information) and possibly recycle bin. Secondly even if you made a raw sector by sector clone of the SD card using third party software, you could actually copy any faults over to the new SD card.

There is a possibility that if you don’t already have V 2.86 of the firmware installed it may default some configuration parameters to defaults and put the unit into secure mode so you can’t change the settings. This would require either a dealer download from their server using their credentials to unlock it or you would have to use Mirascripts to set the parameters.

What version of firmware is the unit currently on? If it is a lower version than 2.86 you may not have that configuration locking issue.