Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

FraserB
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Jan 2019, 20:21

Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by FraserB »

Hi guys,

Looking to piece together the parts for an RT6 upgrade on my C5 (my RT3 screen has died on one half so figured a good time to upgrade).

Does the C4 from around 2009 use the same RT6 screen as the x7 C5 (part number - 9801020080 I believe?). As I've found a cheap setup for sale but the screen's currently hidden behind the fascia panel so I can't see the mounting points etc.

Many thanks.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The screens are not dependent so much on the model but on the audio system being fitted. Not all colour screens are the same. There are several fitted and it depends on the type of telematics unit you are fitting as to which screen is compatible. The RT6 needs the High resolution screen.

It would help if you posted that the VIN of the car that you want to fit the RT6 to.
FraserB
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Jan 2019, 20:21

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by FraserB »

Oh I understand that - the C4 in question has an RT6 head unit and display (fitted from factory).

My C5 is a 2008 X7 model (exclusive trim) so came from the factory with the RT3 and low res screen (it also has the separate amp etc).

I'll be getting a matching RT6 head unit and hi-res screen, I just wondered if the screen from the C4 was physically the same fitment as the C5, as Citroen do seem to use the same screen across the model range for the RT6 display.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Okay there’s a little confusion here, the Citroën C5 X7 from 2008 onwards did not have the RT3 system fitted. That was only fitted on the C5 Facelift model prior. That’s why it’s important to know your C5 VIN.

The colour screens fitted to the Citroën C5 X7 are not the same. There are at least two versions, one that was fitted to the MyWay system made by Herman Becker, the other high-res DG4 screen was fitted to the Navi Drive 3-D (NG4) system, and also used for the RT6. They are not the same and they are not compatible between systems
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

If you are getting a matching set of screen and head unit for an RT6 system then it should be compatible directly. However you cannot use the large colour screen from the Myway system
FraserB
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Jan 2019, 20:21

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by FraserB »

Apologies, I must mean RT4?

VIN is VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff].
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

So you have the RT4 system fitted at factory. This uses a low res screen, so won't be compatible with the RT6 which must use the High Res Screen. So if you are buying the RT6 as a set with display it will be fine.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

You will need to VIN code it to the C5, but as the C5 does not have the HiFi option and separate amp (as standard options when new) you won't need to configure the RT6 Head Unit for the multiplexed amplifier. But you may need Diagbox to check and code the correct parameters for your vehicle such as parking options etc., as the RT6 you are getting will be configured for the options of the previous car. If any are incorrect you will start experiencing errors and faults.
FraserB
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Jan 2019, 20:21

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by FraserB »

Many thanks for the info.

My C5 definitely does have the separate amp and subwoofer in the rear? Has this been added after?

Also, my original question relating to fitment - did the C4 of the 2009/10 era use the same screen as the C5?

i.e. would this fit the C5 once the original C4 screen trim was removed https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Citroen-C4-G ... 2923800904
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25073
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2767

Re: Does 2008 era C4 use same Screen as X7 C5 for RT6

Post by GiveMeABreak »

According to your VIN the amp option was not fitted as standard, so I suspect a retro fit. I will email you the specs for your car as it left the factory - at least you'll know what it had as standard. Look out for an email with a PDF.

As for your other question - again, it is not down to the models - the screen fitted depends on the Head Unit option fitted at factory.

As per your link, that RT6 is from a second generation C4 (B7) as the RT6 was not fitted to the MK I. It should fit fine, but you'll have to remove the fascia holding the screen on.

Secondly, be aware that there are 2 (not well known by the way) fascia panels available for the C5 X7 with large Colour display. One is slightly larger than the other and is needed for the RT6 and the High Res NG4 systems larger screens. Your RT4 one will not cover the new screen properly.

Item 2 below:
X7 Screen.PNG
The part number for the fascia you require (in Nero Mistral - your colour scheme) is 823104 or 16069487ZD
Your original part number for the screen you currently have is 823156 or 16069486ZD