It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Tell us your ongoing tales and experiences with your French car here. Post pictures of your car here as well.

Moderators: RichardW, myglaren

Online
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11638
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1361

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

On my C5, when I got her, there were numerous issues (some of which still remain, awaiting old Lazybones to get off his a**e and sort them out), and the radio, audio stalk, and speakers were all at fault (the aerial base is still outstanding). I replaced them all, and now the sound is great. I will, however, buy a box that plugs into the blue connector on the radio, so I can then plug in USB sticks or memory cards.

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8310
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 370

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Mandrake »

It's possible your interface is one of the early Chinese clones that doesn't work with Diagbox 6 and later Steve.

If that's the case you can run Diagbox but you are limited to (from memory) V5.29 as the last version you can use. That should be new enough for your C6 so should be able to do both cars.

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 12

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Trainman »

I don't think so, I've run diagbox on the C6 with the same cables, it's just really strange......

Anyway, I've managed to run lexia again today, after clearing all the codes from past history, these are the only three that have come back
IMG_0146.JPG
IMG_0146.JPG (36.14 KiB) Viewed 68 times
Now given the fact that the speddo is reading about 10% under where it should (at 46MPH you're actually doing 50MPH) I think a bit of further investigation is needed, On a happier note, the window switches are now fixed, so thanks James.

Next job to tackle is a tempremental boost sensor, If you're driving along and put your foot down, the car creeps forward, however, if you slightly lift your foot, the boost valve opens and the cars takes off, It's almost like putting your foot down when you have the speed limiter switched on.

Trainman
Donor 2018
Posts: 2585
Joined: 21 Aug 2009, 11:58
x 12

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Trainman »

Well, the next job (boost sensor) wasn't what was actually tackled, instead I fitted the new wheels I got from Davie
IMG_0158a.JPG
I've also fitted a bluetooth kit, I had sitting spare at home...........

Online
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11638
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1361

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

I remember reading somewhere (I cannot recall where, but there may have been a link on this forum) that there were some phantom fault codes to do with the instrument panel, and that those three may be some of them. I have three fault codes in the instrument panel area, and (once I found out they were phantom codes) I ignore them.
Last edited by Hell Razor5543 on 19 Mar 2017, 12:05, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
daviemck2006
Donor 2020
Posts: 4955
Joined: 04 Dec 2010, 19:45
x 334

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by daviemck2006 »

Those wheels go well on the c5 estate. Far better than the horrible wheeltrims that was there before. Made a big difference.

Sent from my SM-T585 using Tapatalk

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 44009
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1779

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by CitroJim »

daviemck2006 wrote:Those wheels go well on the c5 estate. Far better than the horrible wheeltrims that was there before. Made a big difference.
Yes, very much agreed - a vast improvement :-D

bxzx16v
Posts: 1701
Joined: 29 May 2011, 22:11
x 18

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by bxzx16v »

Looking good Steve with the new wheels on .

Mark

User avatar
daviemck2006
Donor 2020
Posts: 4955
Joined: 04 Dec 2010, 19:45
x 334

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by daviemck2006 »

I actually think they look better on the c5 than any other car. I had them on the c4 vts, and on the xantia. They looked too big on the xantia if im being honest, but perfect on the c5.

Sent from my SM-T585 using Tapatalk

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 44009
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1779

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by CitroJim »

daviemck2006 wrote:I actually think they look better on the c5 than any other car. I had them on the c4 vts, and on the xantia. They looked too big on the xantia if im being honest, but perfect on the c5.
Agreed on all counts Davie!

Online
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11638
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1361

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

Steve, I think I may have worked out why you have an issue with the speedometer. I believe that is driven from the ABS sensors, and not (as in cars from the past) from the gearbox. If you have tyres that are of the wrong size that would throw out the speedo. On my C5 I have found it to be the most accurate in any vehicle I have driven (it and my Sat Nav agree exactly with what speed they 'think' I am travelling at). I would check the tyre size against the sticker in the driver A pillar.

It is possible that (now you have those wheels from Davie) you now have an accurate speedo. Should be worth checking.

Oh, does the rear windscreen open (there is a button switch under the bottom edge of the plastic cover for the rear wiper)? If it does not, it might be the switch at fault (although others have reported a wiring issue in the concertina grommet). I had this switch fail on my C5, and I got a replacement from Peugeot (for around £36; ouch!), and that sorted out the problem with mine.

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8310
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 370

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Mandrake »

Hell Razor5543 wrote:Steve, I think I may have worked out why you have an issue with the speedometer. I believe that is driven from the ABS sensors, and not (as in cars from the past) from the gearbox. If you have tyres that are of the wrong size that would throw out the speedo.
Surely the wrong size front tyres would affect the speedo reading on any front wheel drive car ? ;)

Online
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11638
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1361

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

True, but as the ABS may be better calibrated for a given wheel size (as it is directly using wheel rotation (sensor/tooth count), as opposed to a mechanical output from the gearbox) it may be that (as it could be believed to be more accurate) it is more prone to an incorrect size of wheel. As the mechanical system might be considered to be less accurate a greater margin of error could have been built in.

User avatar
daviemck2006
Donor 2020
Posts: 4955
Joined: 04 Dec 2010, 19:45
x 334

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by daviemck2006 »

The difference in rolling radius between the tyres Steve has on just now and what a c5 hdi should have is minimal. I think a c5 hdi estate should have 205/65x15 and those tyres are 205/50x17. Theres quite a few sites on the www which will work out the difference in rolling radius for you. I think they all say to aim for a maximum of 3% difference.

Sent from my SM-T585 using Tapatalk

Online
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11638
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1361

Re: It's been a while (C5 Adventure)

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

This does, of course, assume that the wheels/tyres Steve had on when he first got the C5 were of the correct dimensions. If they were not that could account for the 4MPH difference in speed.

I remember CitroJim had issues with his XM a few years back (although I cannot remember the exact fault). Something that was mentioned was that (in the photographs) the wheels/tyres looked too small in the arches. When CitroJim checked them he found they were not correct for the car. Once he got the right tyres on the problem went away.