Forum Poll: please place you comments!

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

adzbaby
My Cars:

Forum Poll: please place you comments!

Post by adzbaby »

I have a choice (and do I go for the red or the blue? ;)):
I have a car (Xantia 1.9 td VSX) which I just bought with a head gasket problem (ebay bargain).
Although I have s/h details the engine has done 200k and I don't know if there is anything else wrong with it!
I have my old 1.9td engine, 127k, which I know has no problems and is completely sound and has never missed a service.
Do I:
a) Attempt to repair the existing engine's head gasket prob, which may involve skimming etc etc (which I have no previous experience of).
b) Just swap the engines over which I have done before????
What do folks reckon is the easiest and best option for the long term?
RaceMouse
My Cars:

Post by RaceMouse »

I'd go for the complete engine change. I would personally (which is what you ask for, right ?) prefer not to open a fully functional engine if I can avoid it. If the space/facillity is availible : QEC! (Quick Engine Change)
Cheers
RaceMouse
Robin
My Cars:

Post by Robin »

Never done either but I would go for the devil I know and swop the engine doing mounts etc as I went along, even perhaps the clutch too. 127k is not a great deal for the 1.9. R
oilyspanner
My Cars:

Post by oilyspanner »

Swap it over, I would rather swap a motor than do a HG (in situ)
Stewart
vanny
My Cars:

Post by vanny »

Swap it!
though i know where there is a 2 litre petrol from a Xantia kicking about, not sure about the history but if your interested then email me and i'll find out!
Richard Gallagher
My Cars:

Post by Richard Gallagher »

Personally I'd swop the engines because then you KNOW your efforts will be rewarded with a working engine.