Noisy gearbox bearings

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Kester_holmes

Noisy gearbox bearings

Post by Kester_holmes »

My daughter just bought a 2008 berlingo 1.6Hdi and unfortunately the gearbox bearings are noisy when driving in gear, loudest in 4th and 5th gear.

I’ve never done a clutch or gearbox before. So trying decide whether or not to take it on.

Would you try gearbox oil first, or is it too late?

Does a standard clutch change also deal with bearings, or will that be an additional gearbox repair?

Thnx.
PaulC5
Donor 2024

Re: Noisy gearbox bearings

Post by PaulC5 »

If the gearbox bearings have worn shown by whining then to replace them means dismantling it. Bearings are cheap enough from a bearing shop but it is the labour if you can not do it yourself. If it is more than just bearings and gears are needed it can become expensive. A cost effective option may be a used gearbox. Whilst the gearbox is removed if is often worth replacing the clutch. If you have not rebuilt a gearbox before you will need a workshop manual and possibly special tools. An engine crane would be useful to lower it to the ground since they are heavy.
Kester_holmes

Post by Kester_holmes »

Thank you for the advice.

Ah, I don’t think I have patience or workshop to take the gears apart! Although guess a gearbox place may be able to work on the box more cheaply, if I remove it.

I may try and source another box, albeit I get the impression berlingo gearbox/clutches are often problematic ….

I presume I have little recourse in going back to the private seller, who must have know about this problem …

Cheers
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team

Post by xantia_v6 »

It is possible that the noise is caused by low oil level, and topping up the oil may improve things to some extent.
Steve Walsh
Donor 2024

Post by Steve Walsh »