Activa Weirdness

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Darkened

Activa Weirdness

Post by Darkened »

Hi Folks, my first post and its for help needed.
I've a 98 Activa and there are 2 wee issues with it.
1) when sitting on normal ride height the left side is lower than the right. Any clues as to why this should be?
2) the anti-roll system only seems to be working at the momwnt while going left, if you corner to the right it rolls quite a bit. Not as bad as my TD vsx Xantia but still badly.
No idea on whats up as really not clued up on it that much, just had 2 front sphere's replaced. ( had to be replaced with hydroactive sphere's, only 5 bar difference i believe, also rear height corrector freed and drop link replaced on front steering )
So any tips or is it a drip to citroen for a go on their diagnostics machines
Cheers
mark_sp

Post by mark_sp »

Okay first thing is to admit I have no experience of the Activa, but I remeber a conversation with a mechanic who mentioned he frequently worked on lop-sided Activas so if this makes any sense:
It's possible that one of the rams is partially seized and a possible cure is simply to clean with WD40 the anchor point/bar. Apparently it should slide with light finger pressure.
Be careful under the car, have some axle stands suitably positioned so the car can not drop suddenly onto you.
Mark
h3rjp

Post by h3rjp »

Mine was like that when I first test drove (it also had a rear clonk), i think the garage replaced one of the hydratic rams (or whatever it uses), which seem to cure it.
Once the engine is off though, it sits in all odd positions, but our last one did that aswell.
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
My Cars: MK2 '17 C4GP 1.6 BlueHDi 120
'13 3008 1.6 HDi GripControl

Post by RichardW »