Faulty Fuel filter symptoms advice please

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Jock357

Faulty Fuel filter symptoms advice please

Post by Jock357 »

Hi,

Firstly as a Newbie I'd like to say Hello to you all.

My question is regarding my 2014 2.0lt HDI Diesel Dispatch.

It has been Sub Zero C temps here in Scotland for over a week and few days ago I noticed the engine had a rather Jerky Idle but the car ran fine, however today after a night torrential rain and having driven through some deepish puddles followed by a 250 mile drive in Freezing conditions the engine started to make an odd metallic rattle, the sort of rattle you get at stalling point.

There have been no engine managment lights appeared on dashboard.

I'd Switch the engine off, restart it and it would run and sound fine for around 10 seconds then start rattling to stalling point once more, It repeated this several times, I then left the car for 10 minutes then it started then run fine and never made the rattling stalling sound afterwards.

Could this be a symptom of a Frozen diesel filter or a Filter with moisture in it? To my surprise on checking the last two services its never had a Diesel fuel filter change so im guessing the current filter or filters must have done around 30'000 miles at least.

I'm frightened to use the vehicle in case it happens again, your advice and diagnosis would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Jock.
CitroJim
A very naughty boy

Re: Faulty Fuel filter symptoms advice please

Post by CitroJim »

Unlikely as diesel fuel is winterised to prevent it freezing Jock and given the filter is in quite a warm place, when the engine is running, there should be no problem however cold it gets. All diesel has a small amount of water in it and I believe if there's an excess in the filter you'll be informed as it may raise a fault indication.