Citroen Xantia LX 1.8 *M reg* questions

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

WildWayz
My Cars:

Citroen Xantia LX 1.8 *M reg* questions

Post by WildWayz »

Hi all,
I'm a newbie when it comes to Citroens as I just bought a 2nd hand Citroen Xantia 1.8 LX (M reg) for £450 with 94K on the clock.
I bought it off a friend of mine who is a self employed mechanic (not trained as one, but fixes a lot of cars). It passed it's MOT and was recently serviced too.
Anyway, I took it for it's first drive at the weekend and the thing is "bouncy" - ended up re-creating the scene from Wayne's World (where they play Bohemian Rhapsody). When I bought it, my friend said I may want to replace the rear spheres for a smoother ride as the front ones are new. Could this be the cause of the spongy behaviour?
Also, I currently drive a company car (Y Reg Toyota Avensis) and the pedals are a heck of a lot different. I have to really push the accelerator down to "take off" whereas on my Avensis, I don't have to push it down far. Is it a big job to adjust it?
One final thing... when braking, i hear a kinda grinding noise (no, not like bare brake discs) - what could this be? I was told it should disappear after a few runs.
Oh oops and another. I only have 1 set of keys. I tried to get a spare cut, but noone would do it. Can I get them from Citroen? If so, how much? I don't think they key is keycoded (it has a keypad immobiliser).
Is there a website with info that I can look at?
James
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Hi James,
you mean the rear suspension feels way too soft ?
- that can not be flat suspension spheres, as then it feels like no spring elements are fitted in the suspension, i.e. it feels rock hard.
If you open the bonnet, with the engine idling, you should hear a clik sound emitted from low down the engine. That would be the hydraulic pressure regulator cuttinng in/out maintaining the working pressure.