Pluriel roof ECU

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

JEZ H
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Apr 2023, 12:38

Pluriel roof ECU

Post by JEZ H »

Hi

Like many we have a Pluriel with roof issues. Main issue being the boot tailgate would not open when you press the button. Roof would also only open 1/3 then stop but was not really concerned about this. Digging on the internet pointed to replacing the roof ecu so purchased one off ebay, Swapped it over and the roof was dead as a dodo. Would not open even the 1/3 as before. Swapped the old ecu back on and despite me disconnecting and leaving before to reset the boot button stated working again. Its my daughter car and to be honest we decided not to touch the roof as it was when the roof jammed the problems started in the first place.

As the roof ecuwe had purchased seems to be faulty we contacted the seller about a refund and got a quite sharp response.

They have said we need the get the roof ecu reprogrammed to the car for it to work .. I see references to people swapping the ecu but not having to spend £150 to get it reprogrammed to the car. I am a qualified mechanic but this was 30 years ago and play around mostly with series 2 land rovers and old pre war BSA's with points and magnetos and thankfully no ECU's in sight so i am far from up to date with modern stuff.

My question is that is it correct i need to get the ecu programmed to the car or is the seller trying to get out of the refund as he thinks he is talking to my 21 year old not vert technical daughter?

Thanks
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38614
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 6019

Re: Pluriel roof ECU

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, they are correct, but this is something you can do yourself: However, be aware that if the vehicle's electrical system has gone into 'Economy Mode' this won't work. So switch the engine on first and then try. Also, for future reference if the battery is in a poor state of health with reduced capacity (anything 5 years old or over) then your economy mode will likely kick in a lot quicker and this will impact on the ability to close or open the roof with the engine off.

Initialisation of the folding roof is necessary in the following cases:
  • Loss of the folding roof position
  • Not possible to stow the folding roof cassette (with all the conditions met for unlocking the cassette)
  • Loss of battery supply during the folding roof movement
The folding roof is initialised in the following way:
  • Folding roof in closed position
  • Rotary button in closing position (position 0)
  • Continuous press on the rotary button for approx. 30 seconds
Folding Roof Initialisation Procedure

Applies to:

Perform an initialisation procedure in the following cases:
  • Manual movement of the folding roof
  • Jamming of the soft roof during the course of sliding
  • Replacement of the folding roof cassette
  • Replacement of the soft roof
  • Replacement of a roof arch mechanism
  • Replacement of the retractable roof ECU
  • Replacement of the set of folding roof cables
  • Replacement of the folding roof reduction motor
  • Disconnection of the battery before putting vehicle in sleep mode
Initialisation procedure

Deletion of the folding roof ECU memory

Perform the following operations:
  • Place the rotary button in position 0
  • Press on the rotary button until the roof vinyl ceases to slide
  • Release the rotary button
  • Press several times in succession on the rotary button
  • Check that the folding roof is at the end of its mechanical travel (open and close the roof a few times if necessary)
  • Press on the rotary button for 18 to 25 seconds
  • Release the rotary button
  • The initialisation has been deleted, pres again for 2 seconds to memorise the new value.
Check

Check that the rear screen opens with the vinyl in position 0, then in position 9.
Note: The initialisation procedure has failed if the rear screen does not open in position 0.

If the rear screen does not open:
  • Open the folding roof by means of the rotary button
  • Carry out the initialisation procedure
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
wheeler
Posts: 7001
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 765

Re: Pluriel roof ECU

Post by wheeler »

Are you sure this is the Correct roof ECU for your car?
There are 2 types, VAN/CAN & Full CAN. If i remember right the connectors are the same & the wrong type can be fitted. If the wrong one is fitted it is unlikely it would do anything.
Did both parts come off the same year vehicle? Do the numbers match up on both units?
Mt_Alimanjaro
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Apr 2023, 07:28

Re: Pluriel roof ECU

Post by Mt_Alimanjaro »

JEZ H wrote: 21 Apr 2023, 12:54 Hi

Like many we have a Pluriel with roof issues. Main issue being the boot tailgate would not open when you press the button. Roof would also only open 1/3 then stop but was not really concerned about this. Digging on the internet pointed to replacing the roof ecu so purchased one off ebay, Swapped it over and the roof was dead as a dodo. Would not open even the 1/3 as before. Swapped the old ecu back on and despite me disconnecting and leaving before to reset the boot button stated working again. Its my daughter car and to be honest we decided not to touch the roof as it was when the roof jammed the problems started in the first place.

As the roof ecuwe had purchased seems to be faulty we contacted the seller about a refund and got a quite sharp response.

They have said we need the get the roof ecu reprogrammed to the car for it to work .. I see references to people swapping the ecu but not having to spend £150 to get it reprogrammed to the car. I am a qualified mechanic but this was 30 years ago and play around mostly with series 2 land rovers and old pre war BSA's with points and magnetos and thankfully no ECU's in sight so i am far from up to date with modern stuff.

My question is that is it correct i need to get the ecu programmed to the car or is the seller trying to get out of the refund as he thinks he is talking to my 21 year old not vert technical daughter?

Thanks
I'm assuming you're not getting the machine gun style noise from the roof cables - that's a whole another issue...

As long as you don't have that I would guess the old roof ECU was probably fine in the first place. I've had times when the roof would only partially open and it was just that the ECU had lost track of what position the roof was in and needed to be reset/initialised which is done as described above. This would also explain why the boot didn't open as the boot switch is linked to the roof - it will only work if the roof is fully open or fully closed. If the ECU is confused about the roof's position it won't let it open. Again this would usually be fixed by the 30 seconds reset. So yes, the initialisation procedure might get the ECU they sold you working, but it would also probably get the original ECU you already had working too...

Another possibility is that the track the roof slides in needs greasing. The roof motors have a force sensor in them so that when the roof is fully open or closed the motor senses that it can't push any further and switches off. But if the roof tracks are not greased then it could get so stiff part way through opening that it triggers the sensor.

I have swapped roof ECUs on my 2008 Pluriel before several times and have never had to get it reprogrammed at a dealer or anything. The most it has ever required is the initialisation procedure, and sometimes not even that.

Personally I have had a lot of issues with the roof of mine to the point that I have now completely removed the roof motor and cables and removed the spring latches on the plastic roof sliders so that the roof is fully manual now.
wheeler
Posts: 7001
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 765

Re: Pluriel roof ECU

Post by wheeler »

Mt_Alimanjaro wrote: 28 Apr 2023, 04:45
Personally I have had a lot of issues with the roof of mine to the point that I have now completely removed the roof motor and cables and removed the spring latches on the plastic roof sliders so that the roof is fully manual now.
Is this a car you have in Australia by any chance? :-D Pluriel roofs are not exactly known for being water tight at the best of times never mind when there is no roof motor to close it tightly.
I would agree with you however, i suspect there was nothing wrong with the roof ECU in the first place. As bad as Pluriel roofs are the majority of issues with them are mechanical rather than electrical.
Mt_Alimanjaro
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 Apr 2023, 07:28

Re: Pluriel roof ECU

Post by Mt_Alimanjaro »

wheeler wrote: 28 Apr 2023, 06:14
Is this a car you have in Australia by any chance? :-D Pluriel roofs are not exactly known for being water tight at the best of times never mind when there is no roof motor to close it tightly.
I would agree with you however, i suspect there was nothing wrong with the roof ECU in the first place. As bad as Pluriel roofs are the majority of issues with them are mechanical rather than electrical.
That's right! Pluriel is definitely more suited to the Aussie climate that's for sure..

I had to install some straps to pull the roof tight at the front - water leakage aside, the wind noise is staggering if you don't get it shut tight!

Anyway - on the rare occasion that the Sensodrive and the roof are both actually working it's a nice car!
User avatar
Stickyfinger
(Donor 2016)
Posts: 10596
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 1374

Re: Pluriel roof ECU

Post by Stickyfinger »

Nothing with a lump of concrete attached to the suspension (to stop it doing jiggy things) is "good" whatever way up you are

(I have an orange one which is even more embarrassing :) )
Alasdair
Activa, the Moose Dogger