Spacetourer fuse box access

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ccxmuk
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Apr 2023, 12:24
x 1

Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by ccxmuk »

Hi Everyone,
Does anyone know how to access the internal fusebox in a 2019 Grand Spacetourer? Any info I can find on line is for the pre-2019 model. My manual simply says its in the glove compartment. I have removed the plastic plate within the glove compartment, which reveals the fuse tweezers, and a small opening that is full of wiring looms and plugs.
20230418_090922.jpg
Just behind that I can make out some fuses, but I cant see a way to get to them. I tried removing the side panel (with the passenger airbag lock) but that doesnt give me access either. Do I have to start to disconnect the wiring? If so then: 1) do I just pull out the clips on the plugs to disconnect each one (I think so?) and 2) is there anything that I should do before/after disconnecting the plugs - like disconnecting the battery?
Shockingly bad design to have fuses hidden away like this! I hope that when I get access there actually is a blown fuse (for the roof blind that doesnt work any more), but I am not hopeful since I have had a couple of diagnostic checks done for other faults, and this wasnt mentioned.
User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25797
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 4995

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by myglaren »

Looks as though a bodger has been let loose there. Is there any aftermarket kit fitted to your car.
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2023
Posts: 7083
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 1403

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by Paul-R »

myglaren wrote: 18 Apr 2023, 09:59Looks as though a bodger has been let loose there.
Not necessarily. The Mk2 Peugeot 308 in RHD form has a similarly inaccessible fusebox just about visible through the glovebox. The poor positioning is a result of building from a LHD original location, although I think that the LHD cars would still be awkward.
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 38697
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 6041

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Worse on a LHD, as it often means trim removal to access anything. Not that there is much better access on this RHD.

But I would suggest you disconnect the battery terminal first following the BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure. If you can't access the negative, disconnect the positive, but make sure you fully insulate the positive terminal wiring so it does not make contact with anything. Wrap it in a towel or similar.

I say this as the BSI (the main vehicle computer) is directly there and has fuses connected to it. As the BSI is live, if you are going to have to disconnect any cables, you should ensure the battery is not connected first to prevent any electrical issues.
Please Don't PM Me For Technical Help

Marc
User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25797
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 4995

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by myglaren »

Disgraceful that it should leave the factory like that. What use are inaccessible fuses?
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2023
Posts: 7083
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 1403

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by Paul-R »

Tell me about it...
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​
ccxmuk
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Apr 2023, 12:24
x 1

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by ccxmuk »

Thanks folks. I will disconnect the battery as advised and tackle the plugs. Wish me luck...
ccxmuk
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Apr 2023, 12:24
x 1

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by ccxmuk »

Right. I give up. Only 3 of the plugs are accessible (and one needed the passenger airbag side panel removed to get to it), but even with them disconnected I can see there are other harness / looms in the way with no plugs visible. I can see a few of the fuses, and it MIGHT be possible to figure out a way to get them out...but they dont include the one I am interested in.
I sincerely hope the car never blows a critical fuse, because it is going to cost an arm and a leg to get a dealer to remove the dashboard - no way I am tackling that!
On the plus side, I am now a master of the battery disconnect / reconnect procedure :)
Thanks again for everyone's assistance, very much appreciated!
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2023
Posts: 7083
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 1403

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by Paul-R »

The handbook is not much help.
Screenshot 2023-04-18 18.20.29.png
As I get older I think a lot about the hereafter - I go into a room and then wonder what I'm here after.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering what the hell happened.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" ~ Homer J Simpson​
ccxmuk
Posts: 9
Joined: 15 Apr 2023, 12:24
x 1

Re: Spacetourer fuse box access

Post by ccxmuk »

My last post - I think - on this topic. Turns out I didnt need to access the fuse box to fix my issue. The sunroof / blind wasnt working and my first instinct was to check the fuse; hence my query on how to access the fuse box. But re-reading the manual reminded me that the blind may need resetting after the battery is disconnected. I had already looked at the reset, but decided I couldnt physically move the blind to the shut position. However, I then realised the instruction was misleading. See below for the wording in the manual. In fact the BLIND doesnt need to be in the closed position, its the CONTROL for the blind that needs to be turned to that setting. Continuing the confusion, button B illustrated isnt actually a button- its the ring of the control dial. It worked!!
"In the event of a failure or battery disconnection while the blind is moving or soon after it stops, the safety anti-pinch function must be
reinitialised:
* put the blind in the closed position,
* press the button B for about two seconds."