DS5 Tyre pressure monitoring fault

This is the Forum for all your DS Automobiles Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

rkomzz

DS5 Tyre pressure monitoring fault

Post by rkomzz »

Hello,

First of all, it is nice to meet this wonderful forum crew, im sure i will find some really helpful informations :))

Citroen DS5 hybrid 2013
Have a problem with tyres pressure monitoring which bothers me periodically only.
On higher speeds (above 100km/h), occasionally on bumpy roads error like this is shown:
"tyre pressure is under-inflated..." *haven't remember the exactly sentence

When this was happening for the first time, I thought the tyre pressure was really low and stopped to inflate the tyres. Everything was ok, the error did not appear for some time, although it was a minor difference.
But after 2k km on the highway, the following error appeared:
"Tyre inflation monitoring fault..."

What could be the reason of this malfunction?
Im new to Citroen cars :(

Thanks
NotAnInterestingName
(Donor 2022)

Re: DS5 Tyre pressure monitoring fault

Post by NotAnInterestingName »

There are battery-powered radio transmitters that are built into the valves. While the wheels are turning, they transmit a radio signal that is received by the car. The batteries are not replaceable, you need to change the whole valve unit.

It can be done by a dealer (expensive option), who will fit a new valve then program the computer with the code number of the new valve. The lower cost option is an aftermarket valve that can be programmed with the same code as your original one, so the car doesn't know it's been replaced so no programming needed. These are programmed and fitted at various tyre shops.

There are two possible messages - one that the pressure is low, the other that there's a fault with the system. A low battery should result in the fault message.