Timing belt advice (205)

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

joshm

Timing belt advice (205)

Post by joshm »

Hi all,
I'm new to Peugeots, having just switched from my trusty old BMW 3 series, and was hoping for some advice regarding the timing/cam belt.
The Pug in question is a 1991 205 GT with a meagre 28000 miles on the clock. It's had a good life and regular servicing but I don't think the timing belt has been changed yet.
My question is this - would a change be recommended given the age of the car, despite the mileage? And if so, is it a job that can be DIY'd? I'm quite handy with cars but am not the sort to take engines out etc. I just wondered how complicated it was, and how reliable the belts are on 205s of this ilk.
If it's really tricky, does anyone have a ball-park figure as to how much a garage would charge for the job (not an authorised Pug dealership, mind - if their prices are anything like BMWs I'd need a second mortgage).
Any advice gratefully received,
Josh M
JohnD
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: 2010 Citroen C5-X7 tourer
1998 Citroen Saxo 1.5D
2018 Citroen C4-B7
1998 Peugeot 306. 1.9D
2011 Citroen C1

Post by JohnD »

Thirteen years is a long time to run a cambelt, even if it has just done 30K miles. I would get it changed ASAP. All my experience has been on various Pug and Cit diesel engines, but I don't think your engine has a spring loaded pulley, so care has to be taken in getting the tension correct. I guess a small garage would charge around £130.
joshm

Post by joshm »

Thanks, JohnD!
Can anyone confirm JohnD's suspicions about the engine not having a spring loaded pulley? It's a TU3S if that helps any...
Josh M
dan
My Cars:

Post by dan »

Hi
I belive the TU series engine uses a cam type tensioner pulley and not a spring loaded one so a bit of car does need to be taken when tensioning the belt up.