Citroen C4 Picasso MK2 SMEG+ fault

This section is for General Enquiries or for Systems not Covered Above

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

SectorOMEGA

Citroen C4 Picasso MK2 SMEG+ fault

Post by SectorOMEGA »

Hello. Please excuse me if the topic does not belong to this part of the forum, but Im fairly new with french cars. Long story short: I own Citroen C4 Picasso MK2 2013 (Avangard I think) and a few days ago the touch screen that is used for controlling everything in the car just froze on the Citroen logo and nothing more. Sometimes it turns itself off then tries to start again but only reaching the Citroen log, something like boot loop of a phone. I took to Citroen dealer, but they told me there are some cuts in the casing of the radio and you need to look for a new one and thats all. I took the car home and decided to take the radio out and see whats going on there and found this(In the attached picture). Honestly Im speechless how someone can cut the casing to reach the SD Card inside when it has some screws and the warranty stickers are torn apart. Inside there is 16GB Kingston Micro SD card. And finally, my question is there something I can do check or I will have to by a new one? Thank you in advance for the help.
Attachments
IMG20220807133039.jpg
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team

Re: Citroen C4 Picasso MK2 SMEG+ fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It looks like somebody has been there before you!

Possibly to resolve some issues, they replaced the flash memory card. It looks like a butchers job on it though, so either the unit was difficult to open, so looks like they cut into it where the flash card is stored to replace it. Kingston is definitely not an original - they usually use a brand like Sandisk or similar. The dealer will not get involved with repairs - they will only send the units off for a cost, or suggest you source a new unit as you have been told.