Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: 20 Apr 2021, 18:29
x 4

Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by Renanek9 »

Hello friends

I've always really liked the updated lights on the panels of the latest Xantia models. They abandoned the "illuminated squares" and upgraded to a more updated and newer model.

I have an Activa Phase 2 98 model. Here´s the lights on my speedometer

Image

I was able to find a brand new 0km speedometer for the latest X2 models. In this spedometer, these lights are like this

Image

And I really like this light update on this panel.

My question is about the installation. Fully Plug and Play?

What about mileage? Is it possible to transfer my current car's mileage (around 34k) to this new 0km panel?
User avatar
white exec
Moderating Team
Posts: 7384
Joined: 21 Dec 2015, 13:46
x 1445

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by white exec »

Unless you particularly want to swap the speedometer instrument, I'm guessing you might be able to swap the "block" display light panel for the "text/symbol" one. Again guessing the illumination behind could be the same, and that it's just a clear-and-black graphic mask that has been changed . . . almost a photographic negative of the first type.
Just guessing here.
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: 20 Apr 2021, 18:29
x 4

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by Renanek9 »

white exec wrote:
16 Nov 2021, 19:45
Unless you particularly want to swap the speedometer instrument, I'm guessing you might be able to swap the "block" display light panel for the "text/symbol" one. Again guessing the illumination behind could be the same, and that it's just a clear-and-black graphic mask that has been changed . . . almost a photographic negative of the first type.
Just guessing here.

Thanks for the answer

That's exactly what I thought. At least it would be my first attempt when I get the second panel and place it side by side with my original

Confirming that both are identical, I would just change the "display block"

But I've gone ahead with the problem, as someone may have come across this problem before and have a more practical solution at hand
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26036
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2985

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

All I can add is that there were specific instrument panel versions for Brazil, but I can't tell you what the difference is.
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7906
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 512

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by xantia_v6 »

If you already plugged the instrument with higher miles into your car, it has probably updated the mileage in the BSI to the same higher number. There is no easy way to revert this, it needs a specialist to reset both units.
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: 20 Apr 2021, 18:29
x 4

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by Renanek9 »

xantia_v6 wrote:
17 Nov 2021, 06:06
If you already plugged the instrument with higher miles into your car, it has probably updated the mileage in the BSI to the same higher number. There is no easy way to revert this, it needs a specialist to reset both units.
BSI you mean the ECU?

Because i´ve already changed my ECU once, for test purposes, and anything has changed

I´ve already changed my CPH for another black unit and nothing has changed either
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: 20 Apr 2021, 18:29
x 4

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by Renanek9 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
17 Nov 2021, 00:29
All I can add is that there were specific instrument panel versions for Brazil, but I can't tell you what the difference is.
I never noticed any difference in the Brazilian models when compared to the French ones
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26036
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2985

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Just different instrument cluster part numbers.
Aref
Posts: 2
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 20:30
x 1

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by Aref »

Renanek9 wrote:
16 Nov 2021, 19:37
Hello friends

I've always really liked the updated lights on the panels of the latest Xantia models. They abandoned the "illuminated squares" and upgraded to a more updated and newer model.

I have an Activa Phase 2 98 model. Here´s the lights on my speedometer

Image

I was able to find a brand new 0km speedometer for the latest X2 models. In this spedometer, these lights are like this

Image

And I really like this light update on this panel.

My question is about the installation. Fully Plug and Play?

What about mileage? Is it possible to transfer my current car's mileage (around 34k) to this new 0km panel?

Hi
I'm from Iran. sorry for my poor English.
the only thing you have to do is swap the cluster electronic board to solve milage issue.

Because changing milage EPROM IC on board is difficult, so i suggest to change the entire electronic board on new cluster with your original cluster. It's a simple job, please don't mess up with needles and never remove them from their shafts because recalibrating needles is a big pain.

the electronic board is simply detachable from back because needle motors doesn't soldered to the board and only connected by plastic clamps. The only thing you should worry about is LCD flat socket which should remove it carefully.

In this way, you have a new non-square lights cluster with original old electronic board to show correct milage.

Cheers, Aref
Renanek9
Posts: 43
Joined: 20 Apr 2021, 18:29
x 4

Re: Update on Xantia X2 Cluster/Speedometer "Style"?

Post by Renanek9 »

Aref wrote:
22 Nov 2021, 05:17
Renanek9 wrote:
16 Nov 2021, 19:37
Hello friends

I've always really liked the updated lights on the panels of the latest Xantia models. They abandoned the "illuminated squares" and upgraded to a more updated and newer model.

I have an Activa Phase 2 98 model. Here´s the lights on my speedometer

Image

I was able to find a brand new 0km speedometer for the latest X2 models. In this spedometer, these lights are like this

Image

And I really like this light update on this panel.

My question is about the installation. Fully Plug and Play?

What about mileage? Is it possible to transfer my current car's mileage (around 34k) to this new 0km panel?

Hi
I'm from Iran. sorry for my poor English.
the only thing you have to do is swap the cluster electronic board to solve milage issue.

Because changing milage EPROM IC on board is difficult, so i suggest to change the entire electronic board on new cluster with your original cluster. It's a simple job, please don't mess up with needles and never remove them from their shafts because recalibrating needles is a big pain.

the electronic board is simply detachable from back because needle motors doesn't soldered to the board and only connected by plastic clamps. The only thing you should worry about is LCD flat socket which should remove it carefully.

In this way, you have a new non-square lights cluster with original old electronic board to show correct milage.

Cheers, Aref
WOW what a big help that you gave to me!

Thank you so much my friend!!!