C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

bobskip
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Oct 2021, 16:14
x 1

C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by bobskip »

Since updating the maps on my satnav I have encountered the all too familiar error messages “Check in progress” and “Please insert navigation CD.” Citroen UK have been of little help providing me with a firmware update CD which wasn’t necessary. Navtech who provide the Emyway updates have suggested that the memory is full and I need to delete unwanted maps from the system before running the update again. So far nobody has been able to tell me how to achieve this. I have search in vain for the hidden menu which may be a way into the problem but I cannot find it despite trying various suggestions on YouTube. My car is a C3 Picasso Platinum Puretech 2017 running version 2.8 firmware. If anyone has a solution I would be eternally grateful. I’ve already had suggestions to use an alternative which I already am, namely my trusty Garmin Nuuvi but it is a faff to set up on the windscreen and I am anxious to be rid of the annoying error messages and get back to something like normal at the very least.
Last edited by bobskip on 31 Oct 2021, 15:15, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5803
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 933

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by Paul-R »

I had the same problem a few years ago on my X7 and I was almost ready to change the micro SD card and reinstall the firmware when I decided that the maps probably needed reinstalling as one of the maps must be corrupted - the problem having only occurred after updating. It would have been a huge coincidence for the card or firmware to have gone wrong at the same time.

As I didn't know which map was corrupt (I had updated all of them) I was going to go through them all one by one. If you've only updated one area then you know which one you have to do.

In the end a new set of maps became available and I installed them instead. Once that had been done the satnav didn't immediately return to normal but a few minutes later it rebooted and everything was fixed. Since then I have probably done 4 or 5 map updates without a problem. So, if you find that reinstalling the maps doesn't fix the satnav then waiting until the next updates come out might fix the display.

One piece of advice. Once you've started updating a map don't accidentally switch the engine off before its finished. I did that a couple of times and I think that caused the corruption. Now, if I find the updating hasn't completed when I've finished my car journey I cancel the installation and restart the next time.
bobskip
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Oct 2021, 16:14
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by bobskip »

Thanks for giving me your ideas. Sadly my system doesn't have an SD card slot. All updates are by memory stick. I've tried different updates of the UK mapping but without success. The system would work off and on when I was up in Scotland at our son's but back home on the south coast no map is visible at all. If I zoomed out on the map in Scotland you could see a blank further south indicating a corrupted file or lack of memory.

Re: switching off the engine - Unfortunately the first time I updated the UK I was forced to switch off after an hour of notHing happening to finish the update.

There is a satnav specialist in Surry, Cartronics, who specialise in Citroen so I'm tempted to visit if I don't get anywhere with Citroen.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28997
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3601

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No, what Paul means is that the RT6 (eMyWay) unit (which you have) uses an internal MicroSD card. He's not on about the USB that you use to update the system.

The internal MicroSD card is used in place of an automotive Hard Drive used on earlier systems. This MicroSD card is partitioned and stores the vehicle configuration, the mapping data and other information on it.

Paul was just explaining that before he changed the internal MicoSD card (as the nand memory cells have a finite number of write cycles) he tried reinstalling the maps again.

He's suggesting you do the same and make sure you keep the engine running when updating / reinstalling the maps, as any interruption can corrupt the process.

It may well be that your internal SD card is on the way out, but at least you can try reinstalling them again first.
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5803
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 933

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by Paul-R »

As Marc says. But for clarification I didn't change the SD card and am still running with the original card inside.
bobskip
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Oct 2021, 16:14
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by bobskip »

Thanks again for the clarification. I can assure you I have tried running the official version of update a number of times with the engine running with the same outcome. I chose France first which happened to appear first on the list as in normal times I visit France regularly. All was well afterwards. However the UK update has caused the problems. On the first attempt I had to stop the process after an hour with the progress bar at the end but no indication of success. Finally while in Scotland I ran the another version of UK update purchased from elsewhere and got a success message. I thought I had cracked but since then the satnav worked sporadically in Scotland and Northern England but back on the South Coast not at all with no mapping present. Zooming out while in Scotland there was a definite line in the Midlands below which map data was absent.

I am clinging to the idea that I need to dump maps I don't need so I can run the update again. This is the advice I am seeking.
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5803
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 933

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by Paul-R »

Maps can be deleted in bulk in the SMEG+ system, such as we have in our 308, by installing a map from a different region area such as Australia. This deletes ALL non-Australian region maps of whatever date and then this in turn can be replaced by whatever you want in Europe. As the map data is the same in the RT6 perhaps the same trick can be used here.

A slight problem for you would be obtaining a different map as you seem to pay for the updates. The actual map data is freely available from the PSA servers. For instance the latest Europe maps are here at https://psa.download.navigation.com/aut ... 0-2001.ZIP and a different region (Australia) at http://psa.download.navigation.com/auto ... 0-7111.ZIP

This problem is that these maps need a code which I presume came with one you bought. You will need a (different) code for the Australian maps. There is a Java program to generate the vehicle specific code required but I fear I am straying into territory which isn't permitted on this forum.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 28997
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3601

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by GiveMeABreak »

👍

Yes, suffice it to say you've provided a possible method to clear out the old and in with the new Paul.
bobskip
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Oct 2021, 16:14
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by bobskip »

Thanks for the possible work around. I’ll bear it in mind if I don’t get any further with Citroen. The dealership have promised a reply later this week but I’m not holding my breath.

Thank goodness my Garmin is operational for a couple of forthcoming trips I have. As I said I would be reasonably happy if I could get rid of the annoying double error messages I get every time I switch on.
bobskip
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Oct 2021, 16:14
x 1

Re: C3 Picasso EmyWay delete maps

Post by bobskip »

Hallelujah! Problem solved! I was on the point of sending my unit for repair to Cartronics but decided to try updating the France map which I had installed first in the process. I hadn’t given it a thought concentrating on repeating the U.K. and Ireland without success. I sat for 30 minutes with the engine running waiting anxiously and after a reboot the map loaded perfectly and the satnav successfully worked out directions. Thanks to all for your suggestions and advice.