New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

This is the place for all your Diagnostic related questions or advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Headrush
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2021, 21:17

New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by Headrush »

I recently acquired 2015 Citroen Dispatch 1200 L2H1 EN-RISE 2lt HDi and wish to get into the world of self diagnostics. I've made the first step and acquired a Dell Latitude D531 which has a 9 pin serial port (not sure if that's a good thing) which is currently loaded with Win10 Home 32bit. I keep reading about different versions of Diagbox in places like eBay and conflicting info about what operating system to use, virtual machines, etc.

Bearing in mind I won't use this laptop for anything else, what would be best for me? WinXP, Win7, both, 32/64bit? I have latest patches for both, a dual config is no problem.

When I get that sorted I'll come back for some advice about interface hardware and software versions.

Thank you :)
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11933
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1485

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

The DiagBox software can (if needed) call up other diagnostics software for older vehicles (such as Lexia foe Citroens). As the Lexia software is quite old it is a 16bit application. Unless you use a Virtual Machine configuration (PLEASE don't ask me what is involved there! :shock: ) you need to have a 32bit O/S, and the version of Windows 10 you are running is 32bit. However, I do not know how well the software works on Windows 10 (I am running my kit on a Windows 7 setup).
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25418
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2832

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I shouldn't worry too much about that with a 2015 vehicle - it won't be using Lexia. It will use the native Diagbox software.

Your other issue may be that the Van is on the cusp of the changeover from Version 7/8 to V9 being a 2015 year. We won't know whether DB V7 will be late enough to read all the ECUs in the Van as even the latest version of DB7 only went to late 2015.

So it's going to be a gamble as to whether you need the later version - and V9 will generally cost you a fee from an aftermarket supplier on top of your interface.

If you've got a van with SCR (Selective Catalytic Reduction- that uses Adblue) then it's possible DB 7 won't be late enough.

This then leads onto the whole topic of what version of windows to use and that depends on the version of Diagbox.... If you need V9, that can come in a standalone version with a licence for one device, or a virtualised version that needs to run under a VM on a laptop that supports virtualisation features. This will then determine what operating system you need to use. VMWare is what the virtualised version of DB 9 runs under, so if your laptop is too old it may not support these features.

All good fun this....
User avatar
Headrush
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2021, 21:17

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by Headrush »

I had a feeling I was going to get shot with that 2015 cusp bullet :) I know 2 things, I don't have Adblue and my van version had run for quite a few years before the new shape came in Aug 2016, so hopefully there's a good chance I'm inside the DB7 range.

So assuming I need to install the latest DB7 software, will I be ok with Win7 32bit or is it a safer bet with XP. This laptop I found has an XP Pro licence attached although I do prefer Win7. Or maybe I should just trust my local mechanic? :-D
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25418
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2832

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

If you have XP already - no point in updating it to Windows 7, as there are additional software components that generally need installing for Win 7 that has not been patched up or had .NET 3.5 installed and of course both of these Operating Systems are de-supported by Microsoft, so you can't get automatic updates any longer. So if the laptop already has XP - leave it there and don't introduce further issues I would suggest.

Pop up your VIN for me (automasked) and I'll be able to check out what engine you have, then I might be able to see if its looking more likely that DB 7 will be OK.
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5401
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 789

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by Paul-R »

Although XP is supposedly the ideal OS I had a lot of trouble trying to install Diagbox on to an old 32-bit XP laptop. Jim at Easydiagnostics did his best to help me but in the end the best he could suggest was to try 32-bit Win 7. Rather than updating the XP I bought another laptop with Win 7 already on it.

Diagbox installed without a problem.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25418
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2832

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It depends on the laptop too and specifically the BIOS settings as to how your installation will go - no two installs are alike as can be seen on the hundreds of forum posts on this, but I would not advise changing the laptop OS at this point as that is also going to involve manual activation now as the servers are not accepting automatic licencing on these old OSs.
User avatar
Headrush
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2021, 21:17

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by Headrush »

VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25418
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2832

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so your van was actually built on 10th July 2014! So should fall within Diagbox V7. So I would update it to either 7.58 or 7.62 max. and leave it at this version.

You have the Dispatch III 2.0 HDi 130 FAP (DW10CD) engine, which is Euro 5 compliant and is very likely to have a Delphi Engine ECU.
User avatar
Headrush
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2021, 21:17

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by Headrush »

Marc, the laptop is currently loaded with Win10 32bit and supports virtulisation but I can load any flavour of windows with patches. I'm a bit of a old geek and have kept installable copies of everything since Win 3.1 lol, I even have DOS 6.2 on floppies! I only mentioned the WinXP licence because it's still stuck to the bottom of the laptop.

Going by what Paul suggests, I might be better off with 32bit Win 7..

Thank you all for your help so far :)
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25418
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2832

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

MS-DOS - yes that's where I got my RSI from - all the command line syntax and setting up Config.sys and Autoexec.bat files to get DOS programmes working, memory management, disk optimisation and the like - those were the days. :-D I had to install Windows for Workgroups, Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Access and Publisher on about 400 PCs with only floppy disks back in the 90s. About 60+ floppies per PC to do that lot!

Ok, so I don't use W10 for diagnostics - earlier versions of DB had issues with the Actia driver signing - as the drivers have to be signed in Windows 10 64 Bit, so you may be ok with a 32 Bit version, hard to say.
User avatar
Headrush
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Sep 2021, 21:17

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by Headrush »

Hahaha! It all comes flooding back, thank you for that :rofl2:

I will swap out the hard drive as I have a few kicking around and keep it aside and load up Win7 32bit and take it from there. If I run into problems, I will try the good ol' XP.

Just one last thing.. So I only need the DB software with no need to install Lexia?

Just realised I probably need to acquire the interface to load any drivers, or can I download those somewhere?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25418
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2832

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That’s correct, the encapsulated Lexia, or Peugeot planet 2000 software, is already contained within the main Diagbox program, and will automatically launch for earlier vehicles from about 2007 and earlier.
TrentBoxer
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Sep 2021, 22:58

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by TrentBoxer »

I have a Boxer 3 2.2L 2015 and have purchased a Lexia 3 interface with Diagbox 9.91 running in VM on Win 10 to perform scans. After unsuccessfully attempting to connect & make a global scan of the vehicle, I have been informed that, unfortunately, I need a S1279 module. Having been overwhelmed with the numerous suppliers of such listed on Ebay, I eagerly seek advice/recommendation of any members' experience of reputable suppliers selling reliable S1279 module on Ebay or elsewhere.
Many thanks in anticipation.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25418
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2832

Re: New to Diagbox, what Windows version?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

This is because you probably have one of the variants with a Ford Puma engine. Ford / Fiat commercials need this additional module to read all the ECUs. If possible, get one form a UK-based diagnostics company. There are a few that sell on the bay.