In Gear Question...

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Doo
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: 2000 Range Rover V8 4.0
2004 Jaguar XK8 4.2
2007 Citroen C4 1.6hdi SX
2012 Berlingo Multispace e-hdi XTR (nice drive :-)
2016 Suzuki Burgman AN650 Executive
I miss my Renault 5 Gordini Turbo....

In Gear Question...

Post by Doo »

Right chaps, curious one for you.

I'm still relatively new to the piloted box. I like it, but the epoch it takes to change up is a tad nippy :roll: That aside, I don't mind it.

However, I'm having rear brake issues... I had to strip & rebuild the rear right caliper as I thought it was sticking. Nothing whatsoever wrong with it, but the pads were stickng in the carrier. No surprise there, they'd been cooked. So got them off, cleaned the mating faces of pad/carrier, checked parking brake cable, all was well and no issues for almost 25 miles :shock: What? Smoke belting off the same wheel so popped to factor, bought new pads, parking brake cables etc and about to tackle it "again" :(

Anyway, I needed to roll the car forward a bit but she was solid!! Actually, not solid. I tried rocking it to undo the brake and saw the wheel was free as a bird, but the car wouldn't move more that a couple of inches :?:

It was almost as if a manual car was in gear... I looked in and saw the turn selector was in A. So ignition on, twist to N and all was well, the car rolled beautifully.

But who knew :| Figured I'd ask/tell in case someone is scratching their head too :)

So my next question, is it possible the hill assist might be causing issue with the sticky caliper? I've stripped the moving parts, all clean. The carrier was cleaned with the wire brush on the grinder. The caliper taken apart, etc. Properly bled and the usual brake issues dealt with.... Except not #-o