Touch Screen Fault

This section is for General Enquiries or for Systems not Covered Above

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

NAM
Posts: 153
Joined: 13 May 2008, 22:42
x 2

Touch Screen Fault

Post by NAM »

I have just bought a 2016 C5 Tourer which has a Touch Screen to control the radio, sat nav and other settings.
I haven't spent ages on it but it keeps cutting out and re-booting. Quite frustrating when you are listening to the radio and/or following directions.
The car is under a 1 month warranty so I was planning to go back to the garage but wondered if this is a common issue and how it can be resolved.
Any help and suggestions greatly appreciated.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It may be firmware related, or the unit behind the centre console may be faulty. Best to get it back to them. Was it a Citroen dealer?
NAM
Posts: 153
Joined: 13 May 2008, 22:42
x 2

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by NAM »

Thanks Marc - no it wasn't from a Citroen dealer but a private garage. Is this likely to be a main dealer only issue in terms of getting in fixed?
Nigel
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, they will have no access to the correct diagnostics most likely - but having said that, Citroen themselves will not repair these. In some cases Citroen can arrange a repair by sending it off to a company they use, but they will first run a diagnostic on the unit to see if it is something where there is a known issue.

This will cost diagnostic time alone of course.... which is where it becomes expensive. If the unit can be repaired, there is usually a cost of anywhere from £300-£400 upwards.

These units can suffer with overheating issues and you can often feel this when there is hot air coming form the driver's knee area. It's usually accompanied by a message and will switch off until it cools off. I think you have the SMEG unit installed in your vehicle being a 2016.

It's a difficult one this, because some of your other functionality relies on the Head Unit operating correctly, such as your parking assistance and other messages. Also, this being touchscreen, some of the buttons have been removed in favour of the touch screen interface, so it is important you have this working.

I suggest you talk to the garage as soon as you can - and get them to agree to have it diagnosed by Citroen and repaired as necessary. The responsibility is with the garage you bought it from to have it in working order - they must have the opportunity to correct the fault and if this is not successful, you have the right to return it for a refund. But don't hang about - keep records of all conversations and dates of issues with the car. This will be important to have records to refer to.
NAM
Posts: 153
Joined: 13 May 2008, 22:42
x 2

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by NAM »

Many thanks Marc - I will get onto them asap.
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5489
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 818

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by Paul-R »

If this is the SMEG+ unit then it may need a firmware upgrade. The symptoms you describe precisely match the problems on the SMEG+ unit in the Mk2 Peugeot 308 which suffer from a rebooting problem if you listen to the BBC on DAB. Firmware SMEG_5.43.A.R2 is the latest version.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I did check for a TSB on this behaviour and there is none recorded against the vehicle, so didn't suggest it at this time, as he has only just got it and was reluctant to suggest he applies a firmware himself, as if this goes toes up, they can decline to fix the issue themselves.
NAM
Posts: 153
Joined: 13 May 2008, 22:42
x 2

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by NAM »

That's exactly what happened - listening to a radio station on DAB and trying to use the Sat Nav and it keeps rebooting every couple of minutes.
FM radio seems to be fine.
So re the firmware upgrade - I assume that is done by main dealer? You provided the latest version - can you upload it by yourself using your phone or something?
I will still contact the garage at it might be more serious but to get the upgrade I just want to check if it has to be done by Citroen?
Nigel
NAM
Posts: 153
Joined: 13 May 2008, 22:42
x 2

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by NAM »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
04 Sep 2021, 23:18
I did check for a TSB on this behaviour and there is none recorded against the vehicle, so didn't suggest it at this time, as he has only just got it and was reluctant to suggest he applies a firmware himself, as if this goes toes up, they can decline to fix the issue themselves.
Just seen this reply - so I won't be trying to sort out the upgrade myself before talking the garage and getting main dealer involved. I just wondered how often you have to get upgrades.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

NAM wrote:
05 Sep 2021, 15:41
That's exactly what happened - listening to a radio station on DAB and trying to use the Sat Nav and it keeps rebooting every couple of minutes.
FM radio seems to be fine.
So re the firmware upgrade - I assume that is done by main dealer? You provided the latest version - can you upload it by yourself using your phone or something?
I will still contact the garage at it might be more serious but to get the upgrade I just want to check if it has to be done by Citroen?
Nigel
Normally yes - as if there are issues doing it yourself (corrupt media / corrupt firmware / other issues) you won't have a leg to stand on. But I suggest you ring the main dealer up - get a quote from them to update the firmware and then contact the garage you bought the car from and say this may be fixed by a firmware update, and here is the cost for Citroen to do it....
NAM
Posts: 153
Joined: 13 May 2008, 22:42
x 2

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by NAM »

Good news in that Citroen will run a diagnostic check and install new software as required - all for £84 (assuming they can do it in an hour). The garage has agreed to pay which is very good news and they were very supportive. I will update after the visit on 16th Sept but thanks again to all for support and advice.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Good news for you - I think that was the best approach, as 1) you should be getting the Firmware update that should resolve the issue with luck and 2) the peace of mind that it will be done properly by the official dealership and 3) you haven't had to pay anything extra to get it done.

Do let us know the outcome.
NAM
Posts: 153
Joined: 13 May 2008, 22:42
x 2

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by NAM »

Good news to report. First up - Citroen did the diagnostics and yes it needed a software/firmware update - apparently is was still on the original version so I am on version 6.6 (which I was told is the latest one). The even better news is that the upgrade sorted out the problem I was having with it re-booting every two minutes. Even better still is that despite Citroen charging me £126 (it took them longer than planned), the garage I bought the car from has paid in full for the work under the 1 month warranty.
Many thanks for the replies I had on this - you all helped me to understand the issue and potential solutions. Fingers crossed now for some trouble free motoring (as soon as I can get some fuel).
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No problem - great news for you and a great outcome. Thanks for the update and letting us know the results. :wink:
User avatar
Paul-R
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 5489
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 818

Re: Touch Screen Fault

Post by Paul-R »

Excellent news.

If the firmware is 6.xx then that implies that you have the SMEG+ IV2 system fitted. This model also suffered from the same rebooting problem as the SMEG+ so updating fixing the reboot problem is no surprise.

One thing that did surprise me is that, although I don't have this system, I thought the latest firmware update was 6.4.A.R10. Still, glad you got a good result.