Dodgy Radio/CD Player?

This section is for General Enquiries or for Systems not Covered Above

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

mrarg1393
Posts: 8
Joined: 23 May 2021, 16:56

Dodgy Radio/CD Player?

Post by mrarg1393 »

Afternoon! Just joined the forum, and have recently bought a lovely Citroen C5 HDi 2005 (Facelift version)

Since picking it up, I’ve noticed that the radio occasionally likes to try and change the source to CD, then it changes back to Radio after a few seconds… (as there’s no CD in it!) it doesn’t happen all the time but it’s a bit annoying… sometimes it don’t do it all, other times it’ll do it every 5-10 mins. So my guess is there’s a fault in the system somewhere. Has anyone had similar issues at all with anything like this? I know it’s a big french car so it’s going to have some electrical problems but before I go and buy another stereo (I know they need coding to the VIN if replaced), just thought I’d ask!

Any help appreciated!

Thanks!
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3109

Re: Dodgy Radio/CD Player?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Pop your VIN (automasked on post submission) up so I can see what system you have. If it's a telematics system, it may be looking for the software CD if it is detecting a problem.
mrarg1393
Posts: 8
Joined: 23 May 2021, 16:56

Re: Dodgy Radio/CD Player?

Post by mrarg1393 »

Hi, my VIN is VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26604
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3109

Re: Dodgy Radio/CD Player?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so no, you have a standard RD4 without Sat Nav or telematics, so there is not software or firmware for these.

It may be thinking there is a CD in there and keeps trying to play it - so make sure there isn't one in there.
mrarg1393
Posts: 8
Joined: 23 May 2021, 16:56

Re: Dodgy Radio/CD Player?

Post by mrarg1393 »

I’ve double checked but there’s no CD in there. It’s just random how it tries to select it… maybe the switch or sensor in the actual radio is playing up or could be dirty?