3-button remote, on a 2-button car?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

LarsS
Donor 2021
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 Apr 2021, 11:24

3-button remote, on a 2-button car?

Post by LarsS »

I bought a new keyremote to my C3 from China.
(including the circuit board)

I ordered a 2-button remote, but got a 3-button.

Will it work if I program it?
Attachments
nyckel.jpg

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 23496
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2488

Re: 3-button remote, on a 2-button car?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No it won't.

Your car has to have the features (like remote headlamp activation) in the first place and your car doesn't. It was never a feature on the C3 of this model and year.

LarsS
Donor 2021
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 Apr 2021, 11:24

Re: 3-button remote, on a 2-button car?

Post by LarsS »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
25 Apr 2021, 11:18
No it won't.

Your car has to have the features (like remote headlamp activation) in the first place and your car doesn't. It was never a feature on the C3 of this model and year.
Just so I understand.
Button "number 3" will not work.
What about number 1 and 2?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 23496
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2488

Re: 3-button remote, on a 2-button car?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I was referring to the middle button just to avoid any confusion as I thought you might be wanting to use that for another functions.

Ideally you should get a matching or equivalent fob otherwise the board may be sending different signals and may not be recognised.

LarsS
Donor 2021
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 Apr 2021, 11:24

Re: 3-button remote, on a 2-button car?

Post by LarsS »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
25 Apr 2021, 11:50
I was referring to the middle button just to avoid any confusion as I thought you might be wanting to use that for another functions.

Ideally you should get a matching or equivalent fob otherwise the board may be sending different signals and may not be recognised.
OK, Thank you.

Maybe its not worth trying to program it at a Citroen shop. Because whats the probability that they sent me a fob with the right ASK/FSK, when they didnt get the buttons right. 🤣

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 23496
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2488

Re: 3-button remote, on a 2-button car?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yep - that's the issue with the cheap Chinese ones - they are very 'hit and miss'! :-D