RT6 unit not working at all

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24371
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: RT6 unit not working at all

Post by GiveMeABreak »

This specific unit he is offering is no good - it is not the same unit as yours - the one in the description does not support rear view cameras. So the one in the advert is an earlier system with the wrong electronic architecture.

If you click the 'more info' button in the description, you can see he specifically states this
THIS STEREO IS NOT COM[PATIBLE WITH REVERSE CAMERA
WE CAN SUPPLY UNITS WITH REVERSE CAMERA ACTIVATION FOR £350
So I would contact him first - but I would also query the fact that he is incorrectly saying these are made by Harman Becker - they are NOT. They are made by Magneti Marelli as all the RT* units were. I think he is getting his MyWay (WIPNAV) and eMyWay (WIPNAV+) units mixed up:
MANUFACTURED BY HARMAN BECKER

MODEL BE6426

RENG2
It may be a genuine mistake, so I would ask him to get his listing info correct first of all and confirm that you need an RT6 or WIPNAV+ unit with Rear Camera Support.

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5312
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 756

Re: RT6 unit not working at all

Post by Paul-R »

I haven't been following completely but I'm assuming your RT6 also doesn't have a rear camera.

Also, if you're getting a refurb unit, see if they can set flag in the software for requiring an activation code to update the maps to No. This will remove the need for that annoying code every time there's a map update. Specifically "Maps DRM = 1. Change to 0".

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24371
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: RT6 unit not working at all

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It does have a camera Paul - hence my comment that the one advertised is not going to be compatible.

User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5312
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 756

Re: RT6 unit not working at all

Post by Paul-R »

Ah, I thought that I hadn't missed something. That link does make mention of the RT6 with rear camera further down in the text. And it costs £399.99 instead of £319.99, i.e. £80 extra,

SlimJim
Posts: 36
Joined: 03 Apr 2021, 14:53

Re: RT6 unit not working at all

Post by SlimJim »

Hi Marc

Spoke to Karim who sounds great but was a little bit nervous when he said he hasn’t got spare parts at the moment. The chap from eBay would repay me if it couldn’t be fixed but feels it’s 1 in 300 he couldn’t fix

I’ll keep you posted

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24371
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: RT6 unit not working at all

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, best of luck with it - do let us know how it goes.

JONLA
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Jul 2021, 15:34

Re: RT6 unit not working at all

Post by JONLA »

Hi Marc
I have exactly the same problem as the thread creator SlimJim.
Can you check which version of the fimrware I should have for my Peugeot 508 RXH 2013?