Upgtade from RT5 to RNEG2 in 11/2011 Expert Tepee

This section is for General Enquiries or for Systems not Covered Above

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

ree_dk
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Mar 2021, 19:42

Upgtade from RT5 to RNEG2 in 11/2011 Expert Tepee

Post by ree_dk »

Hi
I have just bought an Expert tepee with a factory mounted RT5 unit mounted. I want to get the RNEG2 unit installed, and I can easily find a RNEG2unit and screen that fits.
What do I need to do the swap.
Can someone help me confirm...
New harness or adaptor needed?
Do I need a new cable for the high res screen?
Will existing gps antenna and microphone work and are adaptors needed?
What to do with usb interface?
Anything else I should be aware of?

Br.

Christian
User avatar
MacSlavko
Posts: 46
Joined: 17 Aug 2017, 23:39
x 6

Re: Upgtade from RT5 to RNEG2 in 11/2011 Expert Tepee

Post by MacSlavko »

A bit of a late-commer here...
You still interested in this upgrade (as it can be done)?
ree_dk
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Mar 2021, 19:42

Re: Upgtade from RT5 to RNEG2 in 11/2011 Expert Tepee

Post by ree_dk »

Hi yes still interesred 🙂
User avatar
MacSlavko
Posts: 46
Joined: 17 Aug 2017, 23:39
x 6

Re: Upgtade from RT5 to RNEG2 in 11/2011 Expert Tepee

Post by MacSlavko »

So you basically need the RT6 (RNEG2) head unit with its high resolution screen (the one from RT5 won't work, but LVDS calbe is the same).
All the vires at the back are the same so no messing with wire harness, either.
The only thing is that the RNEG2 screen is slightly taller. It deos fit in nicelly as the outer dimensions are the same, just the front side will be cut out in the few lowest pixell rows... Nothing to vorry about too much!

Depending on where does the RT6 come from, might need additional telecoding with Diagbox (apart from obvious changing the VIN to yours), but that all can be done without access to PSA servers, so your're all good.

Another good news is that RT6 (RNEG2) is still supported with new maps 2 times a year!
Last edited by GiveMeABreak on 02 Nov 2021, 20:51, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Corrected to RNEG2